View Full Version : scroll bars...if this is in the wrong section please move it

07-24-2002, 08:01 PM
hey i was just wondering if you could tell me how u put a scroll bar on you page.........ihave asked almost everyone i have talked to and no one really seems to know. So if you could tell me i would be so very greatful. It makes me so mad that i can not figure it out and i am tring to addone to my site.

This is the site address and what i want is for me to be able to use the links and have the info go to the scroll bar instead of having to reload the whole page again.Elaborate Designs (http://www.geocities.com/elab1232000/index.html)

07-24-2002, 09:24 PM
Do you mean a custom scrollbar? I ask this because obviously, the browser automatically creates scrollbars when the length of the page exceeds the height of the browser window.

A custom scroll bar, or more specifically, function, could be found here: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex2/pagescroller.htm

07-24-2002, 09:29 PM
I was assuming you ment something like this:


07-25-2002, 04:44 AM
actually i meant something like this, but thankyou for giving me this idea if the other scroll bar does not workhttp://www.khweb.co.uk/

07-25-2002, 06:37 AM
that's just an IFrame, with a styled scrollbar. you set up the IFrame like this:

<IFRAME SRC="somepage.htm" NAME="iFrame"></IFRAME>

Now you can load documents into the IFrame using <A HREF="somepage.htm" TARGET="iFrame">click click</A>.

in order to style the scrollbar, you include this in your style sheet:

body { scrollbar-base-color: #00FF00; }


body {scrollbar-face-color: #FFFFFF; scrollbar-shadow-color: #000000;
scrollbar-highlight-color: #000000; scrollbar-3dlight-color: #FFFFFF;
scrollbar-darkshadow-color: #FFFFFF; scrollbar-track-color: #FFFFFF;
scrollbar-arrow-color: #000000;}

the former automatically colors the scrollbar for you, the latter gives you more control over the scrollbar.

be sure to remember that you can only customize the scrollbar like that in Explorer.

08-03-2002, 04:06 AM
hey i'm jsut wondering if there was a way to link from one frame to another that are right next to each other?ehre what i amtring to do....i am tring to link the affilate elaborate designs to the main fram is that possible? (http://swe.freeservers.com/index.html)