...

View Full Version : 404 page for this website



CoolKay
05-25-2012, 01:58 AM
countyfairgrounds.net needs a 404 page. Now I can make the page in html5 and fix it to be pretty. The problem is I don't know how to make it function and am hoping here someone can tell me. - say like if someone types in the browser...http://www.countyfairgrounds.net/india - google sends it to a 404 not found. So, how do I make all my domain name pages go to a 404 if there is an input problem... like what goes on each page in the site to return a page not found error - if something is typed in wrong .... or do I just need it on the homepage... what if someone types in countfairgrounds.net or something like that?
I don't have a clue as to how to handle this one.

_Aerospace_Eng_
05-25-2012, 02:57 AM
If someone has the right domain but goes to an invalid page you can give them a 404. If someone has the wrong domain there isn't anything you can do unless you actually own countfairgrounds.net

Setting up a custom 404 page is quite easy. A simple search would have told you that already.

http://www.thesitewizard.com/archive/custom404.shtml

CoolKay
05-27-2012, 06:40 PM
hi - I own it and Yahoo does not use htacess files. I am presuming therefore that makes the issue a little more difficult. I am just intersted of course in getting it to work for the site.

_Aerospace_Eng_
05-28-2012, 12:23 AM
Yes it makes it a little harder. Does yahoo allow php files? Why don't they allow htaccess? Where are you hosting?

CoolKay
05-28-2012, 04:00 PM
Hi and thanks for answering me I did some"*****ing" at Yahoo and they fixed it. Yes Yahoo is the server for this site and has been since forever. I tried to move it to years ago and it was a disaster - so it went back to Yahoo. And yes they do not allow htcaccess files.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum