...

View Full Version : How to add an image to browser tab



viddz
05-17-2012, 06:08 PM
I dont know how to explain this. I want to add image to website which should load on browser tab. For this forum image CF shown on browser tab. Hope u guys got it

VIPStephan
05-17-2012, 06:18 PM
This is called “favicon (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Favicon)”, a. k. a. “bookmark icon”. You create a 16×16 pixel PNG or GIF image and run it through the favicon generator (http://tools.dynamicdrive.com/favicon/). It will convert the image to the ICO format because IE doesn’t support other formats for these kinds of images. Then you put the icon in the root directory of your website and it should usually be displayed automatically. If not you can add a specific meta element to the head of your document like so:
<link rel="shortcut icon" type="image/vnd.microsoft.icon" href="http://example.com/image.ico" />

viddz
05-17-2012, 08:20 PM
whoah i did it. thanku VIPStephan

dan-dan
05-17-2012, 10:26 PM
I remember testing favs on older versions of IE, and the image didn't always appear. I don't remember the exact problem, though although it wasn't always visible to my comp, it would appear to everyone elses.
As weird as that sounds, I'm pretty sure I wasn't tripping!

I also always add the meta tag to be extra safe :)

Taro
05-17-2012, 10:30 PM
Hello,

Generally if you have an FTP server you may not need to use any coding at all. Just place the favicon file on the general root area of the location and it should appear next to the nav bar on all pages of the site.

stevemack
05-17-2012, 11:16 PM
That icon is called as Fav Icon. You can add those types of images for your website by placing the code <link rel="shortcut icon" type="image" href="http://example.com/image.ico" />

This will enable the Favicon across the website.

Wojjie
05-18-2012, 01:44 AM
Some browsers have different HTML mark up for the favicon, and some older browsers just default to "http://domain.com/favicon.ico".

Really you should always use "http://domain.com/favicon.ico" as your favicon path/file name to work in all cases.

viddz
05-18-2012, 05:52 AM
Thanku very much guys. where is the thread resolved button? Couldnt find it.

VIPStephan
05-18-2012, 10:56 PM
Thanku very much guys. where is the thread resolved button? Couldnt find it.

You’d edit your first post (in advanced mode) and choose “resolved” from the select box next to the title. Editing a post is only possible for a limited amount of time, though, so you might not be able to do that anymore.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum