View Full Version : .swf not showing on website

05-02-2012, 03:19 AM

I imported a video into flash and added a custom made player skin and a centered play button.

I put my swf file in the index.html file in dreamweaver and when I test it it works just fine locally but when I upload it to the server the video and player skin doesn't show up, only the centered play button is visible and when I click on it it disappears and nothing else happens.

I have all my files in the root folder. The main .swf file, the player skin .swf, and the flv, all of them are in the same folder and I uploaded all of them to the server. it just wont work.

I am using Flash CS4, ActionScript 2.0.

Please help!
Thanks in advance :)

05-02-2012, 07:50 AM
Can we have a link to your page?

05-02-2012, 08:44 AM
Thanks for the quick response.

This is the website link:


05-02-2012, 03:17 PM
There was probably a new scripts folder created when you added the video using dreamweaver or a few extra files that made up the player and what not. Do you see anything like that in your files?

05-02-2012, 06:30 PM
Thank you aerospace,

I didn't use:

Insert/Media/SWF in Dreamweaver so no scripts folder was generated. I tried this method though and I got the same results.

I used a coding that I have always used to put .swf files in websites but this is the first time that I use a flash player skin and first time my code doesn't work.

This is the code:

<script type="text/javascript" src="swfobject.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">
var flashvars = {};
var params = {};
var attributes = {};
swfobject.embedSWF("test.swf", "myAlternativeContent", "488", "312", "9.0.0", "expressInstall.swf", flashvars, params, attributes);

<div id="video">
<div id="myAlternativeContent">
<a href="http://www.adobe.com/go/getflashplayer"><img src="http://www.adobe.com/images/shared/download_buttons/get_flash_player.gif" alt="Get Adobe Flash player" /></a>
<p><span class="video_title"> Formulart&reg;, The Brochure & The Methodology</span></p>

I also have a

expressInstall.swf and a swfobject.js in my folder.
My guess is that my coding is missing something to upload the player skin swf file in the web, but I don't know what is missing.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

05-03-2012, 04:22 AM
Are you sure there was nothing additional generated when you added the custom player in flash. Do you have your .fla file?

05-03-2012, 07:57 AM
Thanks again aerospace!

My custom player is actually a modified FLV Playback Skin from the Flash library, and my problem comes only when I upload the files to the server because locally everything works just fine, so I think there is something missing in my .html file.

I just sent you a private message with the link to download the .fla file.

Also I tried again to put my .swf in Dreamweaver an I got the scripts folder with 2 files the following code.

<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" width="488" height="312" id="FlashID" title="test">
<param name="movie" value="test.swf" />
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<param name="wmode" value="opaque" />
<param name="swfversion" value="" />
<!-- This param tag prompts users with Flash Player 6.0 r65 and higher to download the latest version of Flash Player. Delete it if you don’t want users to see the prompt. -->
<param name="expressinstall" value="Scripts/expressInstall.swf" />
<!-- Next object tag is for non-IE browsers. So hide it from IE using IECC. -->
<!--[if !IE]>-->
<object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="test.swf" width="488" height="312">
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<param name="wmode" value="opaque" />
<param name="swfversion" value="" />
<param name="expressinstall" value="Scripts/expressInstall.swf" />
<!-- The browser displays the following alternative content for users with Flash Player 6.0 and older. -->
<h4>Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.</h4>
<p><a href="http://www.adobe.com/go/getflashplayer"><img src="http://www.adobe.com/images/shared/download_buttons/get_flash_player.gif" alt="Get Adobe Flash player" width="112" height="33" /></a></p>
<!--[if !IE]>-->

I uploaded all the files including the two files in the scripts folder to the server and still not working.

In dreamweaver when I added the .swf file a window appeared asking for "title, access key, and tab index" I didn't know what to put in there so I just clicked "OK" and I didn't change the "accessibility preferences". I don't know if that has anything to do with my problem?

Thanks again I really appreciate the time that you are putting into helping me with this problem.

05-03-2012, 01:12 PM
So flash is trying to pull in the flv file. It doesn't embed it into the swf like you think it does. In the component parameters under contentPath, change that path to be relative to where the .swf is at on the server and it should work. I've tested this theory by giving it a contentPath that isn't relative to the swf file and it gives me the same behavior as you are seeing. Once I gave it a path relative to the swf file it started working. Right now where in relation to the fla file is your flv file?

05-03-2012, 08:15 PM
Pardon my ignorance but now I got completely lost.
How can I change the path to be relative to where the .swf is at on the server if the server is external? you know a host company.
My flv is in the same folder as the flash and swf files.

05-03-2012, 08:42 PM
Ok, I think I now understand what you are saying.
When I import the flv into flash I get a window asking if I want to pull the flv file from my local computer or from a web server, I select the web server option and I write the url, so this should embed the flv from the server into the final swf?
I'll give it a try and let you know if it worked.

Thank you very much!!

05-03-2012, 09:27 PM
Could you please tell me what is the path you wrote In the component parameters under contentPath?
This is what I am writing


and I get a notice saying the flash couldn't find the source.


05-04-2012, 02:25 AM
Use this Formulart_Kenneth_h.flv or http://www.kenbaltes.com/Formulart_Kenneth_h.flv for the path. The first one will work if you use local.

05-04-2012, 08:07 AM
My problem got solved!!!!!
I cannot believe it was something soooooo simple, but I could have never found it out without your help!

Thank you very much you are the best!!! :thumbsup::)

05-04-2012, 01:06 PM
Cool. Glad it worked. Please mark this thread as "Resolved" if you can.

05-04-2012, 08:03 PM
I tried but there is no "EDIT" button on my firs post =(.