...

View Full Version : Moving to the Next Step (Rookie)



ConcreteWaves
04-10-2012, 10:03 PM
:eek:Let's say your site from mockup adobe photoshop image, is now coded in HTML and CSS...it looks how you want it. (For the most part, you can always go back and tweak the style more.) Now...It's been so long for me that i feel there is a bit of an empty gap in my brain. What is the next step...to getting my website on the internet, and creating the actual pages.

A few questions such as:
- Is my next step to get hosting and domain name, and upload my current files to the FTP server?
- How do I create a new page, and get it to show in my content area - but when you click the link, the style of my website stays the same it doesn't have to reload the page, only the content is changing. (I think this is php include code...but I haven't messed with it yet. But another buddy told me it's javascript or jquery. So I'm lost here....I would hate to have to style every single page.) I want it to be simple so that my new pages are only done in simple HTML, maybe a little other coding but I think you get me.

- Anyone know any cool codes for image galleries? To where they display thumbnails...then when I click it, it kinda does the facebook thing where if I click the image it goes to the next one or previous. If so, How do I get this to stay in my content area as well too. Except when you click the thumbnail, then it brings up the full size image in a slideshowish fashion?

Yup that's basically it coding forums, i appreciate all feedback as I am now done working on my mother in laws website, it looks how I basically want it to. (i have more tweaking with the style to do, but I can definetly start to make pages for the links)

alykins
04-11-2012, 12:29 AM
until recently i lived in Englewood CO- cheers! I miss my CO plate :(

teedoff
04-11-2012, 02:53 AM
- Anyone know any cool codes for image galleries? To where they display thumbnails...then when I click it, it kinda does the facebook thing where if I click the image it goes to the next one or previous. If so, How do I get this to stay in my content area as well too. Except when you click the thumbnail, then it brings up the full size image in a slideshowish fashion?

dynamicdrive.com (http://www.dynamicdrive.com) has some great image galleries and lots more.

You can get a domain name and hosting ANY time. In fact I keep one strictly for remote testing for all sites I build.

myfayt
04-11-2012, 12:48 PM
I recommend hostmonster.com, I've used and reviewed over 7 hosting companies this is by far the best yet and many on here recommend it.

For the changing content, I wouldn't know without seeing it. Sounds like you're using the same template on all pages, however if it doesn't change pages and it's like a super quick change, that would be javascript. You can't run PHP without a server, so you'd need hosting or a server run on your computer.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum