...

View Full Version : Why doesn't my javascript calculator work?



twinbird24
03-29-2012, 02:42 AM
It can be found right here: http://arkdesigns.ca/AttilaKomaromiJavaCalculator.htm

I have javascript enabled on my browsers but it still doesn't work. I see the calculator but pushing the buttons does nothing Any help is appreciated

My code is:


<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>Javascript Calculator</title>
<style>
<!-- CSS STYLES GO HERE -->
.container {
width:500px;
height:500px;
}
.equ {
width:99%;
height:20px;
font-size:20px;
text-align:right;
margin-bottom:15px;
}
table {
border:1px solid black;
padding:5px;
width:100%;
}
table td {
margin:3px;
text-align:center;
width:20%;
}
.buttons {
width:100%;
height:50px;
font-size:15px;
}
</style>
<script type="text/javascript" src="javascript.js">
</script>
</head>
<body>
<div class="container">
<table cellspacing="0">
<tr>
<td colspan="5"><input class="equ" type="input" disabled="disabled" id="equation" value="0"/><input type="hidden" id="previousType" value="-1"/></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><input class="buttons" type="button" name="sin" value="sin" onclick="solve ('sin')" /></td>
<td><input class="buttons" type="button" name="cos" value="cos" onclick="solve ('cos')" /></td>
<td><input class="buttons" type="button" name="tan" value="tan" onclick="solve('tan')" /></td>
<td><input class="buttons" type="button" name="sqrt" value="&radic;" onclick="solve('sqrt')" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><input class="buttons" type="button" name="back" value="&larr;" onclick="remove ();"/></td>
<td colspan="2"><input class="buttons" type="button" name="erase" value="C" onclick="clear_equation ();" /></td>
<td><input class="buttons" type="button" name="divide" value="/" onclick="equation (this.value, 1)"/></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><input class="buttons" type="button" name="seven" value="7" onclick="equation (this.value, 2)"/></td>
<td><input class="buttons" type="button" name="eight" value="8" onclick="equation (this.value, 2)"/></td>
<td><input class="buttons" type="button" name="nine" value="9" onclick="equation (this.value, 2)"/></td>
<td><input class="buttons" type="button" name="multiple" value="*" onclick="equation (this.value, 1)"/></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><input class="buttons" type="button" name="four" value="4" onclick="equation (this.value, 2)"/></td>
<td><input class="buttons" type="button" name="five" value="5" onclick="equation (this.value, 2)"/></td>
<td><input class="buttons" type="button" name="six" value="6" onclick="equation (this.value, 2)"/></td>
<td><input class="buttons" type="button" name="subtract" value="-" onclick="equation (this.value, 1)"/></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><input class="buttons" type="button" name="one" value="1" onclick="equation (this.value, 2)"/></td>
<td><input class="buttons" type="button" name="two" value="2" onclick="equation (this.value, 2)"/></td>
<td><input class="buttons" type="button" name="three" value="3" onclick="equation (this.value, 2)"/></td>
<td><input class="buttons" type="button" name="plus" value="+" onclick="equation (this.value, 1)"/></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td colspan="2"><input class="buttons" type="button" name="zero" value="0" onclick="equation (this.value, 2)"/></td>
<td><input class="buttons" type="button" name="decimal" value="." onclick="equation (this.value, 3)"/></td>
<td><input class="buttons" type="button" name="equal" value="=" onclick="solve ('');"/></td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>
</body>
</html>

Mishu
03-29-2012, 02:54 AM
you haven't posted any javascript

Nile
03-29-2012, 03:00 AM
It's because the file you're linking to in the script doesn't exist (javascript.js).

Mishu
03-29-2012, 03:13 AM
It's because the file you're linking to in the script doesn't exist (javascript.js).

It does in my FF v11. When I view the source of the link and click on the js file name (which also appears as a link in the source) the file opens up. But there are errors in it.

Nile
03-29-2012, 03:20 AM
Hmmm, that's odd. I get a 404 error.

http://cl.ly/2Z1T3I3e1p1l2l1N0m0x/Screen%20shot%202012-03-28%20at%208.17.40%20PM.png



<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 3.2 Final//EN">
<html dir=ltr>

<head>
<style>
a:link {font:8pt/11pt verdana; color:FF0000}
a:visited {font:8pt/11pt verdana; color:#4e4e4e}
</style>

<META NAME="ROBOTS" CONTENT="NOINDEX">

<title>The page cannot be found</title>

<META HTTP-EQUIV="Content-Type" Content="text-html; charset=Windows-1252">
</head>

<script>
function Homepage(){
<!--
// in real bits, urls get returned to our script like this:
// res://shdocvw.dll/http_404.htm#http://www.DocURL.com/bar.htm

//For testing use DocURL = "res://shdocvw.dll/http_404.htm#https://www.microsoft.com/bar.htm"
DocURL = document.URL;

//this is where the http or https will be, as found by searching for :// but skipping the res://
protocolIndex=DocURL.indexOf("://",4);

//this finds the ending slash for the domain server
serverIndex=DocURL.indexOf("/",protocolIndex + 3);

//for the href, we need a valid URL to the domain. We search for the # symbol to find the begining
//of the true URL, and add 1 to skip it - this is the BeginURL value. We use serverIndex as the end marker.
//urlresult=DocURL.substring(protocolIndex - 4,serverIndex);
BeginURL=DocURL.indexOf("#",1) + 1;

urlresult=DocURL.substring(BeginURL,serverIndex);

//for display, we need to skip after http://, and go to the next slash
displayresult=DocURL.substring(protocolIndex + 3 ,serverIndex);

InsertElementAnchor(urlresult, displayresult);
}

function HtmlEncode(text)
{
return text.replace(/&/g, '&amp').replace(/'/g, '&quot;').replace(/</g, '&lt;').replace(/>/g, '&gt;');
}

function TagAttrib(name, value)
{
return ' '+name+'="'+HtmlEncode(value)+'"';
}

function PrintTag(tagName, needCloseTag, attrib, inner){
document.write( '<' + tagName + attrib + '>' + HtmlEncode(inner) );
if (needCloseTag) document.write( '</' + tagName +'>' );
}

function URI(href)
{
IEVer = window.navigator.appVersion;
IEVer = IEVer.substr( IEVer.indexOf('MSIE') + 5, 3 );

return (IEVer.charAt(1)=='.' && IEVer >= '5.5') ?
encodeURI(href) :
escape(href).replace(/%3A/g, ':').replace(/%3B/g, ';');
}

function InsertElementAnchor(href, text)
{
PrintTag('A', true, TagAttrib('HREF', URI(href)), text);
}

//-->
</script>

<body bgcolor="FFFFFF">

<table width="410" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="5">

<tr>
<td align="left" valign="middle" width="360">
<h1 style="COLOR:000000; FONT: 13pt/15pt verdana"><!--Problem-->The page cannot be found</h1>
</td>
</tr>

<tr>

<td width="400" colspan="2">
<font style="COLOR:000000; FONT: 8pt/11pt verdana">The page you are looking for might have been removed, had its name changed, or is temporarily unavailable.</font></td>
</tr>

<tr>
<td width="400" colspan="2">
<font style="COLOR:000000; FONT: 8pt/11pt verdana">

<hr color="#C0C0C0" noshade>

<p>Please try the following:</p>

<ul>
<li>If you typed the page address in the Address bar, make sure that it is spelled correctly.<br>
</li>

<li>Open the

<script>
<!--
if (!((window.navigator.userAgent.indexOf("MSIE") > 0) && (window.navigator.appVersion.charAt(0) == "2")))
{
Homepage();
}
//-->
</script>

home page, and then look for links to the information you want.</li>

<li>Click the <a href="javascript:history.back(1)">Back</a> button to try another link.</li>

</ul>

<h2 style="font:8pt/11pt verdana; color:000000">HTTP 404 - File not found<br>
Internet Information Services<BR></h2>

<hr color="#C0C0C0" noshade>

<p>Technical Information (for support personnel)</p>

<ul>
<li>More information:<br>

<a href="http://www.microsoft.com/ContentRedirect.asp?prd=iis&sbp=&pver=5.0&pid=&ID=404&cat=web&os=&over=&hrd=&Opt1=&Opt2=&Opt3=" target="_blank">Microsoft Support</a>
</li>
</ul>

</font></td>
</tr>

</table>
</body>
</html>

Mishu
03-29-2012, 03:31 AM
Hmmm, that's odd. I get a 404 error.


Like I said, when I view the source of the posted link in FF v11 and then click the link to the js file that appears in FF's "view page source" window, it opens up the js file. But it's a mixture of html and js functions and so it's no wonder the op's calculator doesn't work. The file the js link points to exists but I think the op has linked to an incorrect file.

Nile
03-29-2012, 03:35 AM
No... The file the OP links to does not exist. The mixture is the code of the 404 error page.

Mishu
03-29-2012, 03:39 AM
It could be. I didn't take a close look at the code. As soon as I saw html mixed up in a supposedly js file I thought this is a major stuff up and closed the window without looking at the actual code.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum