...

View Full Version : PLEASE: Need help with JS for my website (newbie)



panchoskywalker
03-12-2012, 11:12 PM
I'm new to wordpress, I've just made a website and I want to make small modification: I want to remove the buttons in red.

I thought it was CSS. But I've discovered that JS can't be overwritten by CSS so here I am.

In firebug, I can see this:

element.style {
display: block;
}
When I change it to "display: none" buttons do disappear but I don't know in which file to find this sentence.

A JS file is attached as txt. Can anybody give me a hand?
This is the site: http://franciscourrea.com/sitio/

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7064/6976664415_7a24489f33_z.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/panchoskywalker/6976664415/)
buttons (http://www.flickr.com/photos/panchoskywalker/6976664415/) by panchoskywalker (http://www.flickr.com/people/panchoskywalker/), on Flickr

DanInMa
03-12-2012, 11:17 PM
try changing :


navigation : 1, //Slideshow controls on/off

to


navigation : 0, //Slideshow controls on/off

panchoskywalker
03-12-2012, 11:24 PM
try changing :


navigation : 1, //Slideshow controls on/off

to


navigation : 0, //Slideshow controls on/off

Thanks DaninMa, where can I find that sentence? There are a few in the attached file.

panchoskywalker
03-13-2012, 12:37 AM
Thanks I tried but nothing happens.

DanInMa
03-13-2012, 03:06 AM
ok, change this in the supersized.css


#tray-button {
cursor: pointer;
position: fixed;
right: 50px;
top: 20px;
}

to :


#tray-button {
cursor: pointer;
display: none ;
position: fixed;
right: 50px;
top: 20px;
}

panchoskywalker
03-13-2012, 03:24 AM
Didn't work either....why is it so complicated.

DanInMa
03-13-2012, 03:32 AM
you sure you are saving your changes? that worked fine via firebug manipulation., and the first suggestion should have at the very least hidden the controls on the bottom. if that didnt happen then somethign is up with your update process, I suspect.

panchoskywalker
03-13-2012, 03:43 AM
I just did it again....I don't get it. There are several js and css file in the theme.

panchoskywalker
03-13-2012, 04:00 AM
I just keep putting "display: none;" everywhere I can inside supersized.css.....the only thing that disappear are the pause button and the background image.

panchoskywalker
03-15-2012, 09:08 PM
Nobody can help me?

ckeyrouz
03-15-2012, 09:20 PM
I found that the display:block is defined in your html code.


<div id="controls" style="display: block;">

So replace the display:block with display:none in your html colde.

<div id="controls" style="display: none;">

panchoskywalker
03-15-2012, 09:46 PM
I found that the display:block is defined in your html code.



So replace the display:block with display:none in your html colde.

<div id="controls" style="display: none;">

Ok, thank you. Where do I find html code. I'm newbie, when I look inside the theme there's php, css and js files, there's no html file....I assume this is normal and the html code is located into another file? right? How can I find it?

felgall
03-15-2012, 09:49 PM
Select "View Source" when viewing the page with a browser.

panchoskywalker
03-15-2012, 11:08 PM
Select "View Source" when viewing the page with a browser.

mmm sorry, I know how to select view source, but don't know what to look for then. I mean, it's a wordpress theme. There's no html file.

panchoskywalker
03-16-2012, 02:45 AM
Well, everything disappeared now, except the things I want to hide.

felgall
03-16-2012, 02:51 AM
I mean, it's a wordpress theme. There's no html file.

Of course ther is HTML - web browsers can only display the HTML. What Wordpress does is to generate the HTML for you.

The process of fixing problems like this is to start with viewing the page source so you can see the HTML that the page is using. You then find the HTML tag with the problem There will also be CSS associated with the page so that you may need to look there as well to see how it affects the tag.

Once you work out what values in the HTML and CSS are giving what you don't want then decide how that needs to look to give you what you do want.

Only then do you go into the WordPress and start looking for the part of the code that generates the incorrect HTML or CSS so that you can fix it to generate the correct HTML and CSS.

The web browser doesn't know or care whether the HTML and CSS is static or generated by Wordpress or generated by anything else. It only knows what is in the HTML and CSS it receives.

panchoskywalker
03-16-2012, 02:58 AM
I understand, what I meant is that there's no html file when I open the theme folder on my computer desktop.
Anyway I've wotked on almost every file putting display: none wherever I can....monkey test...and I still don't get it.

panchoskywalker
03-16-2012, 05:51 PM
If someone can still give me hand, I've attached 3 php files. One of them define the background when I set a static image as background, no buttons appears then. The other 2 files set the background gallery when I set a gallery as background, that's when the buttons appears.

What I need is to be able to set the background as a 1 image gallery with no buttons. This way I'll get a static image with the grid pattern, that doesn't show up when I set the BG as a static image.

felgall
03-16-2012, 08:34 PM
Post a link to the page so we can see the HTML.

panchoskywalker
03-16-2012, 08:51 PM
This is a link:

http://franciscourrea.com/sitio/

panchoskywalker
03-19-2012, 08:57 PM
Nobody there?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum