...

View Full Version : is this a copyright breach if i sell something with some free software in?



devinmaking
02-29-2012, 11:24 AM
Hi guys, i am building an application to sell on websites like www.codecanyon.net and www.designers-paradise.co.uk

My question is i need a WYSIWYG editor and was thinking of using CKEditor and modernising it to fit my application.

As its a free script am i able to use it within the application if i give recognition and links to the site from the sales page?

If i cant use this or any other WYSIWYG editor can any point me in the right direction on how i would achieve building one of these, as i have never tried to do anything like this so far.

Thanks

KuriosJon
02-29-2012, 11:37 AM
You should familiarize yourself with their licensing (http://ckeditor.com/license). I don't really know much about the licenses they offer, but you'll need to be looking for two things:


Can you use their code in your product and then sell your product?
Does your product have to be open source in order to use their code.


I believe the GPL license, which they offer, allows you to sell a product with their code in it, but I would wait on someone else to confirm that.

devinmaking
02-29-2012, 11:44 AM
You should familiarize yourself with their licensing (http://ckeditor.com/license). I don't really know much about the licenses they offer, but you'll need to be looking for two things:


Can you use their code in your product and then sell your product?
Does your product have to be open source in order to use their code.


I believe the GPL license, which they offer, allows you to sell a product with their code in it, but I would wait on someone else to confirm that.

Ive read it and its confusing as most places it states it can be used and then there are sections in which you need to pay for licenses.

tangoforce
02-29-2012, 03:12 PM
Well then you need to contact THEM really.

This is a php forum - not a ckeditor tech support forum! You need to contact the CKeditor guys and explain your situation and find out directly from them.

devinmaking
03-01-2012, 03:22 PM
Well then you need to contact THEM really.

This is a php forum - not a ckeditor tech support forum! You need to contact the CKeditor guys and explain your situation and find out directly from them.

I have, i posted on there forum and sent 2 emails and not once have i had a response.

Support and community is poor on that site.

tangoforce
03-01-2012, 07:40 PM
Well if their support is that poor, what do you think their enforcement of the licence will be like?

If it suggest you can use it then I'd use it.

felgall
03-01-2012, 08:42 PM
ckeditor is distributed under the standard GPL licence - that means you can use it in applications you make available to others as long as your software is either open source or is commercial software that satisfies the terms of the Open Source license.

You only need the commercial licence if your application doesn't meet one of the above criteria. the list of changes that a commercial licence allows you to make to ckeditor is listed on http://ckeditor.com/license

If you don't intend to make any changes to ckeditor and don't expect any support then you probably meet the criteria for the GPL licence (but you should read through that licence to confirm that it doesn't prohibit something you are trying to do. This is an extremely common licence under which most open source sorftware is released and so you ought to be familiar with it if you are going to use any open source software. After all you agreed to abide by that licence when you first downloaded the software and so presumably read it.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum