...

View Full Version : Apparent bug - FF10 not scrolling horizontally below 400px width



SB65
02-16-2012, 11:55 AM
Anyone else come across this?

With this simple page (http://www.simonbattersby.com/test/width.htm), below about 400px screen width FF10 hides the content on the right hand of the screen and there are no scrollbars.

This doesn't happen in FF9 (or anything else....)

I was seeing this on a much more complex page and have just wasted an hour ripping out all the css to identify what was causing it.:(

majunior
02-16-2012, 05:11 PM
I suppose its because firefox does not wish to support mobile websites (yet). You were trying to develop a mobile website?

SB65
02-16-2012, 05:18 PM
Mobile website, yes, but that's incidental.

But given that this wasn't an issue for FF3 to FF9 then it seems unlikely that this is a deliberate change.

majunior
02-17-2012, 10:37 AM
I think it is deliberate. Firefox is developing a mobile browser. This is in a beta version, and is still in development. I'll bet that this mobile version won't have this issue. So, FF10 is not supporting a width smaller than 400px; because they want that to cleary be their desktop browser, suited for PCs (and macs) with large screens.

This will never be an issue when you publish it on the web. because:

- No PC uses a monitor smaller than 400 px wide. (That doesnt even exsist I think :P)
- Mobile visitors never use FF10 as a browser. So any android or IOS browser won't have this problem. And, again, I'm pretty sure that FF mobile won't either.

SB65
02-17-2012, 10:49 AM
- No PC uses a monitor smaller than 400 px wide. (That doesnt even exsist I think :P)

Agreed, but that's not to stop a user making a window smaller to allow multiple windows on a desktop. You may be right about the mobile version though...

teedoff
02-17-2012, 03:22 PM
That is odd. I've never noticed this "bug" or whatever it may be before. Of course I never minimize any desktop down that small lol. IE doesn't hide the content though. Curious...

SB65
02-17-2012, 03:43 PM
Yeah, it heartily hacked me off as well as I trust FF to do everything properly, so a FF bug/feature was much lower on the list of causes than a bug in my css.

Cannot find anything in the FF10 release notes about this. I should probably stop moaning and log it as a bug...

teedoff
02-17-2012, 03:51 PM
Yeah, it heartily hacked me off as well as I trust FF to do everything properly, so a FF bug/feature was much lower on the list of causes than a bug in my css.

Cannot find anything in the FF10 release notes about this. I should probably stop moaning and log it as a bug...

Do they have a "bug/feature" request submission over at mozilla? I've not looked, but might be worth reporting or asking about.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum