...

View Full Version : Top menu messed up in IE 7.0



wolfcry044
02-12-2012, 11:48 AM
Website URL:
http://www.promote1st.com

Stylesheet link:
http://www.promote1st.com/style.css

Navigation:
http://www.promote1st.com/includes/navigation.php

In internet explorer 7.0 the top menu runs down into the mouse area of the header image, instead of where it's supposed to be at the top. I can't figure out what's causing it but it looks fine in the other browser versions/browsers as far as I know.

Anyone know what could be causing it?

wolfcry044
02-12-2012, 10:07 PM
Anyone?

SB65
02-12-2012, 11:39 PM
Have a try adding the following to your css:


#logo{width:276px}
#top-navigation{margin-left:276px}

wolfcry044
02-12-2012, 11:43 PM
That worked! Thank you SO much. I could just hug you right now but I'll refrain. = )

wolfcry044
02-12-2012, 11:52 PM
The only thing now is the top divider is off on the right and the buttons are wider in IE. Also the logo is too far to the right in other browsers now but not in IE 7.

SB65
02-12-2012, 11:55 PM
Logo looks the same in IE7 and FF10 to me...

Try floating your .topdivider right.

wolfcry044
02-13-2012, 12:00 AM
That worked for the divider, thanks.
Everything is good now except the buttons. They are wider in IE 7.0, causing the line height to display improperly

wolfcry044
02-13-2012, 12:11 AM
I think cufon might be causing the button width bug. Not sure how I would go about fixing that. : /

wolfcry044
02-13-2012, 01:40 AM
Can anyone help me fix this last bug? I can't find what's causing it. It's not as big a deal as the other one that's been resolved but it's still annoying because the buttons are fatter in IE 7 and makes the line height messed up.

Could use one last bit of help here. Thanks.

SB65
02-13-2012, 12:57 PM
Not sure how the buttons being fatter affects the line-height? Do you mean higher?

Either way, line-height in Cufon will only work reliably with strict doctypes (see https://github.com/sorccu/cufon/wiki/known-bugs-and-issues.

Stepping aside from the melee of people who will say you should be using a strict doctype anyway - I agree, but changing it at this stage will cause a lot more work - I wouldn't worry about the difference on IE7. It's pretty hard to see the difference compared to FF10, and no user is going to be comparing the two side by side.


Your other alternative if the small difference is a show-stopper is to serve a different stylesheet to ie7 using conditional comments and work around it that way.

wolfcry044
02-13-2012, 01:04 PM
Thanks for the reply.
I usually use a strict doctype but I thought I'd use loose this time around because I usually end up taking a million hours fixing little nuances lol

Still, I guess it would be better. I'll probably try going strict and see how many errors it outputs and if it's too much I'll just leave it as it is or try using a conditional stylesheet.

I appreciate your feedback. Thank you.

wolfcry044
02-13-2012, 01:09 PM
Sweet, only two errors with strict. I'm going to fix those. The buttons look the same in all the browsers as they did before in IE 7.0. I'll mess around to see what I need to do to get them to look good now. Any suggestions though?

Thanks.

wolfcry044
02-13-2012, 01:37 PM
It's all fixed now. I just set it to strict, tweaked line-height, and fixed the two minor errors on the page. Thanks so much for your help. Looks great now.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum