View Full Version : How can I manage my website efficiently?

musicgold
02-03-2012, 05:05 AM
Hi,

I am a newbie in terms of website design and management. Last summer I created my personal website using a friend's help. I got a domain name from godaddy.com and I am hosting the site on freehostia.com.

However, managing the site is a big problem. First edit my webpages on my computer then upload them on Freehostia. Freehostia's server is very tricky in terms of syntax and page names.

Is there an easy way to manage a website? Ideally I would like to be able to update my website on a daily basis.

Thank you.

VIPStephan
02-03-2012, 04:36 PM
Firstly, get a decent webspace. I don’t know Freehostia but I guess these free hosting providers all have a catch somewhere. Then, a CMS is probably easing a lot of things. Refer to my post on the other thread (http://www.codingforums.com/showthread.php?p=1188609#post1188609) I made just last night. I don’t know if you can even run a CMS on Freehostia.

dylanbaumannn
02-03-2012, 07:34 PM
one of the better hosting companies that I've run across is BlueHost.com, they offer a pretty affordable price and updating/managing your website is actually very simple.

All you need is an FTP client (cyberduck for example) and you just connect to your website and you simply place your website into the main folder they have set aside for you. Updating is as simple as drag and dropping your files into the web folder :D

Jennifert
02-04-2012, 11:20 AM
one of the better hosting companies that I've run across is BlueHost.com, they offer a pretty affordable price and updating/managing your website is actually very simple.

All you need is an FTP client (cyberduck for example) and you just connect to your website and you simply place your website into the main folder they have set aside for you. Updating is as simple as drag and dropping your files into the web folder