...

View Full Version : Problems with favicon



D34th Maker
02-01-2012, 02:17 AM
hello CF right now im having trouble with my favicon. now ive tested it in IE its fine but in Google Chrome and FF its not right. In GC its all Blue and in FF its just blank also im using google chrome for all the coding though im doing it on the web with host-ed using their cPanal also for any one who wants the site its http://d34th.host-ed.me

sean3838
02-01-2012, 03:01 AM
Try this


<link rel="Shortcut Icon" href="http://d34th.host-ed.me/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />

D34th Maker
02-01-2012, 04:03 AM
Try this


<link rel="Shortcut Icon" href="http://d34th.host-ed.me/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />that did not work its still doing the same thing.

sean3838
02-01-2012, 04:37 AM
Oh well I just noticed theres no image in the link to ur favicon

put your favicon in your image directory then use

<link rel="Shortcut Icon" href="images/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />

D34th Maker
02-01-2012, 04:57 AM
Oh well I just noticed theres no image in the link to ur favicon

put your favicon in your image directory then use

<link rel="Shortcut Icon" href="images/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />Did that and it does the same thing.

sean3838
02-01-2012, 05:04 AM
post your favicon here and post your index.html code so I can see what you are doing wrong

D34th Maker
02-01-2012, 05:24 AM
post your favicon here and post your index.html code so I can see what you are doing wrongWell here is my favicon: http://d34th.host-ed.me/images/favicon.ico

And here is my code:


<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<title>Home - d34th.com</title>
<link rel="Shortcut Icon" href="images/favicon.ico" type="icon/image" />
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="CSS.css" />
</head>
<body>
<p>Our programs</p>
<ul class="List">
<li><a href="d34th_auto_clicker.html">D34ths Auto Clicker</a></li>
<li><a href="the_clicking_game.html">The Clicking Game</a></li>
<li><a href="html_viewer.html">HTML Viewer</a></li>
<li><a href="calculator_1.html">Calculator 1</a></li></ul>
<p>Want to learn coding then visit our</p>
<ul>
<li><a href="coding_index">Coding index</a>&nbsp;(Not Yet Implemented, Will be in the future)</li></ul>
Please ignore the messiness of the site as we are still making major changes and the site will look better once its done
<div>&nbsp;</div>
<div>We are also Attempting to get a background image for the site so its not so messy looking.</div>
<div>&nbsp;</div>
<div>Have a question about one of our programs or want to request a program E-mail us @ <em>creator@d34th.host-ed.me</em></div><embed hidden="true" src="/Music/Godsmack_-_Voodoo.mp3"></embed>
<div class="listen_live clearfix">

<a href="http://www.q106fm.com/listen-live/" title="Listen Live" class="listen-live-sprite" target="_blank">Listen To Q106fm.com or Q106.1</a>

<script type="text/javascript">

$('.listen-live-sprite').popupWindow({

height:465,

width:775,

top:50,

left:50

});

</script>

</div>
</body>
</html>

Also a little side note: i have also used strict as that was what it was before.

sean3838
02-01-2012, 05:25 AM
I don't see your favicon image?

D34th Maker
02-01-2012, 05:43 AM
Well here is my favicon: http://d34th.host-ed.me/images/favicon.ico

And here is my code:


<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<title>Home - d34th.com</title>
<link rel="Shortcut Icon" href="/images/favicon.ico" type="icon/image" />
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="CSS.css" />
</head>
<body>
<p>Our programs</p>
<ul class="List">
<li><a href="d34th_auto_clicker.html">D34ths Auto Clicker</a></li>
<li><a href="the_clicking_game.html">The Clicking Game</a></li>
<li><a href="html_viewer.html">HTML Viewer</a></li>
<li><a href="calculator_1.html">Calculator 1</a></li></ul>
<p>Want to learn coding then visit our</p>
<ul>
<li><a href="coding_index">Coding index</a>&nbsp;(Not Yet Implemented, Will be in the future)</li></ul>
Please ignore the messiness of the site as we are still making major changes and the site will look better once its done
<div>&nbsp;</div>
<div>We are also Attempting to get a background image for the site so its not so messy looking.</div>
<div>&nbsp;</div>
<div>Have a question about one of our programs or want to request a program E-mail us @ <em>creator@d34th.host-ed.me</em></div><embed hidden="true" src="/Music/Godsmack_-_Voodoo.mp3"></embed>
<div class="listen_live clearfix">

<a href="http://www.q106fm.com/listen-live/" title="Listen Live" class="listen-live-sprite" target="_blank">Listen To Q106fm.com or Q106.1</a>

<script type="text/javascript">

$('.listen-live-sprite').popupWindow({

height:465,

width:775,

top:50,

left:50

});

</script>

</div>
</body>
</html>

Also a little side note: i have also used strict as that was what it was before.


I don't see your favicon image?yeah i had to fix my link but after i did that it still does not work for me. Also the fix is highlighted in Red.

sean3838
02-01-2012, 05:46 AM
Can I get the link to your favicon or the image you are using because it's not showing up for me... when I go to view it there is no image in there. Also how is your directory set up? You might need to do:

<link rel="Shortcut Icon" href="../images/favicon.ico" type="icon/image" />

The fix is in red

D34th Maker
02-01-2012, 05:54 AM
Can I get the link to your favicon or the image you are using because it's not showing up for me... when I go to view it there is no image in there. Also how is your directory set up? You might need to do:

<link rel="Shortcut Icon" href="../images/favicon.ico" type="icon/image" />

The fix is in redwell whatever the default cPanal setup is but i can provide screen shots for it. and the link to the favicon is http://d34th.host-ed.me/images/favicon.ico

sean3838
02-01-2012, 06:13 AM
Ya that's what i'm saying when you click that link theres no favicon there it's blank. That's your problem. It can't display a favicon if there isn't one haha

D34th Maker
02-01-2012, 06:15 AM
Ya that's what i'm saying when you click that link theres no favicon there it's blank. That's your problem. It can't display a favicon if there isn't one hahai dont know why its not showing up since its in my public_html directory

sean3838
02-01-2012, 06:25 AM
wait... the image is in your public_html folder? what other folders do you have in your directory? if you have an image folder it needs to be in there... if not just make a new folder called images and put it in there

if it doesn't work just upload it to image shack for now and use the direct link they give you then in the href="" put that link there



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum