...

View Full Version : 32bit vs 64bit



chartwise
01-21-2012, 01:57 PM
Can anyone please tell me what I would have to do to make my computer able to accept 64bit software such as Windows 8 OS?

I'm currently running Windows XP and wish to soon upgrade.
Should I upgrade to Windows 7 now or wait for Windows 8?

What are the advantages of 64bit?

All help much appreciated

melloorr
01-21-2012, 05:28 PM
To run 64-bit, you need a motherboard and a CPU that supports 64-bit. You should be able to find out from a simple search on Google. Also, it would be good if you had atleast 4GB or more, although it is not necessary. 32-bit can only recognise 3GB of RAM so 64-bit is for people with 4GB or more.

64-bit is better because it handles large amounts of memory better and more efficiently than 32-bit, meaning, programs that use alot of memory, run faster.

As for Windows 8... I have never used it, but I do not think it will be anything special, and I will be sticking with 7. But maybe someone who has used both can tell you which :)

chartwise
01-21-2012, 06:43 PM
To run 64-bit, you need a motherboard and a CPU that supports 64-bit. You should be able to find out from a simple search on Google. Also, it would be good if you had atleast 4GB or more, although it is not necessary. 32-bit can only recognise 3GB of RAM so 64-bit is for people with 4GB or more.

64-bit is better because it handles large amounts of memory better and more efficiently than 32-bit, meaning, programs that use alot of memory, run faster.

As for Windows 8... I have never used it, but I do not think it will be anything special, and I will be sticking with 7. But maybe someone who has used both can tell you which :)

Thanks Mellor
My CPU is an AMD Athlon (tm) 64 x 2 Dual Core Processor 5000+

I presume the 64 means that is it 64 bit compatible but do you know how to confirm this please?

melloorr
01-21-2012, 06:50 PM
Yes your CPU is 64-bit: http://products.amd.com/en-gb/DesktopCPUDetail.aspx?id=607&f1=&f2=&f3=&f4=&f5=&f6=&f7=&f8=&f9=&f10=&f11=&f12=

What about your motherboard though?

Crake
01-21-2012, 10:52 PM
Windows 8 (preview) is availble in 32bit as well,

Cheers,

SteveO :thumbsup:

oracleguy
01-21-2012, 11:39 PM
Yes your CPU is 64-bit: http://products.amd.com/en-gb/DesktopCPUDetail.aspx?id=607&f1=&f2=&f3=&f4=&f5=&f6=&f7=&f8=&f9=&f10=&f11=&f12=

What about your motherboard though?
If the motherboard supports 64-bit CPUs, it would be pretty strange that it wouldn't work in 64-bit mode.

If you are wanting to upgrade soon, you might as well just upgrade to Windows 7 instead of waiting for Windows 8. The biggest advantage to using a 64-bit OS is that you can have utilize more than 4GB of RAM, for example I have 16GB in my computer now. On 32-bit 4GB is the maximum with the usable memory typically closer to 3GB.

chartwise
01-22-2012, 10:50 AM
Thank you everyone for your replies I have click the thank you button for you all.

You have all be most helpful



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum