View Full Version : How can I put PHP code into an HTML file being required?

cineweekly.com
01-20-2012, 02:51 AM
Sorry, I'm not sure of the terminology I'm very new to PHP and still learning.
First of all, here is my html code:

<head>
<?php require("head.html"); ?>
</head>
<body>
<div class="link"><a href=" '.$link.' ">Random</a></div>
</body>

How can I insert the following code into the head.html file? Currently, the file only contains <?php echo ' Some html '; ?>

// Predefinitions
$links = file('/articles.txt');
$currentPage = $_SERVER['PHP_SELF'];

// make sure links are pure and no whitespaces are left
foreach ( $links as &$link )
{
$link = trim($link);
}

// prepare for history
if ( ! array_key_exists('visited_links', $_SESSION) )
{
$_SESSION['visited_links'] = array();
}
// add current site to visited links if it wasnt visited earlier
if ( ! in_array($currentPage, $_SESSION['visited_links']) )
{
$_SESSION['visited_links'][] = $currentPage;
}

// get all those links which were not visited yet kinda $links = $allLinks - $visitedLinks
$potentialLinks = array_diff($links, $_SESSION['visited_links']);

$randomLinkId = mt_rand(0, count($potentialLinks)-1);
$randomLinkIds = array_keys($potentialLinks);
$randomLink = $potentialLinks[$randomLinkIds[$randomLinkId]];

djh101
01-20-2012, 02:58 AM
Just insert it? And, of course, change head.html to head.php.

cineweekly.com
01-20-2012, 04:35 AM
Just insert it? And, of course, change head.html to head.php.

My html parses as php server-side.
Where do I insert the php? I've tried this format:

<?php
php code from original post

echo '
html
';
?>

But I'm getting this error in my error log:

PHP Warning: array_key_exists() [<a href='function.array-key-exists'>function.array-key-exists</a>]: The second argument should be either an array or an object

This is the line in question:
if ( ! array_key_exists('visited_links', $_SESSION) )