...

View Full Version : How can i use an if statement for this



D34th Maker
01-02-2012, 12:10 PM
Hello CF im wondering how could i use an if statement to have something pop up when visitors visit my site that allows them two choices.

it would say something like this.

Would you Like to always see the navigation Bar?

then they have two options. Yes and No.

then depending on what they choose it will either have the code use the absolute or the fixed positioning attribute for the whole code.

Or is this just not possible?

If you want me to explain it more just ask.

_Aerospace_Eng_
01-02-2012, 12:23 PM
It is possible yes. Here are the basic steps you will need to take

1. Create an HTML/CSS javascript "pop-up". I recommend using jquery.alerts. The updated version is here https://github.com/aurels/jquery.alerts which is modified from the original here http://abeautifulsite.net/blog/2008/12/jquery-alert-dialogs/
2. Capture the result from the confirm dialog and then set a CSS value for your menu using javascript.
3. Save their choice in a javascript cookie.

Good luck.

D34th Maker
01-02-2012, 01:48 PM
alright but could you give me a little tutorial on doing that as ive only been doing sites for about 1 month and haven't really ventured far form html/css stuff.


the things i need the tutorial on are 2. and 3.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum