View Full Version : Resolved Could someone please explain what return 0 means in English?

Microsuck
01-02-2012, 01:45 AM
I just had the worst experience with regard to StackOverflow. The people there are absolutely rude.

Could someone please explain what return 0 means in English?

I'm just beginning in C and C++, and this is something I see a lot. What exactly does it mean?

Thanks!

melloorr
01-02-2012, 02:01 AM
it basicly means that the program exits when
return 0 is run (I'm pretty sure)

Microsuck
01-02-2012, 02:06 AM
it basicly means that the program exits when
return 0 is run (I'm pretty sure)

Thanks for answering. But that doesn't make sense to me.

I apologise to everyone if I'm coming off as rude myself, that stack overflow experience really pissed me off.

melloorr
01-02-2012, 02:21 AM
Well, I have only done a tiny bit of C++ but, say you had Main():

int main()
{
int num1 = 10;
int num2 = 23;
int sum;

sum = num1 + num2;

return 0; //program exits here, 0 goes to operating system
}

That may not be the right syntax or anything, but when it reaches return 0, the 0 tells it to exit the program. If it wanted to keep running, it could say return sum; or something.

Spookster
01-02-2012, 07:46 AM
What you return from a function depends upon what return type you have defined for that function. If you are returning 0 then your return type is likely integer which is of course the return type of your main function. In regards to the main function return 0 means to exit the program cleanly without errors. If you were to return a 1 it would indicate an error with the program. For custom defined functions that return value can be defined to mean what you need it to be.

Microsuck
01-02-2012, 11:03 PM