...

View Full Version : New Computer - Realtek says it's working but isn't...



MrTIMarshall
12-24-2011, 05:04 PM
I have Creative 5.1 surround sound speakers on my fairly new Acer Aspire M3641 Desktop/PC. When I got it, I installed Windows 7 64bit from Vista 64bit. I am now trying to get my surround sound to function properly...

My other computer, of which is also operating on windows 7 but the 32 bit version had the same problem. When I got the speakers I found when I installed the Realtak HD Audio Manager and tweaked around I got the speakers to work, however, I cannot seem to do the same on my new computer.

When I test the speakers in Realtek, sound does come out all 5 speakers and the base, however, when I play music in Spotity or a video on YouTube, only two speakers including the base works.

The last time I had some problems, however, this was solved by restarting the program, of which I have done and I have even restarted and completely turned off my system with no luck...

I thank you for any help and/or advice in advance as I really do hope to have them working to play some music on Christmas (and it's my birthday!).

Best Regards,
Tim

DanInMa
12-24-2011, 10:42 PM
well if your playing music, it's only supposed to come from the 2 main speakers and maybe a sub woofer generally. the extra speakers come into play when you watch movies with dolby surround sound and so forth. you might be able to force it to do so by changing the default speaker setup in the realtek application

primefalcon
12-25-2011, 02:29 AM
As stated above it depends on the quality of what your watching to listening to.... you wont be able to listen kittens in baskets using surround sound if it was only recorded using mono sound or being streamed in mono quality.

MrTIMarshall
12-25-2011, 12:27 PM
well if your playing music, it's only supposed to come from the 2 main speakers and maybe a sub woofer generally. the extra speakers come into play when you watch movies with dolby surround sound and so forth. you might be able to force it to do so by changing the default speaker setup in the realtek application


As stated above it depends on the quality of what your watching to listening to.... you wont be able to listen kittens in baskets using surround sound if it was only recorded using mono sound or being streamed in mono quality.

I was doing this on my other computer :(



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum