View Full Version : Selection sort (descending order) pseudocode check

Blowpipe
12-18-2011, 12:51 AM
Hi Everyone,

I am working on a piece of pseudocode for an assignment and as I am new to Javascript, I would like some confirmation I am on the right track with the code.

Algorithm selectionSort
Pre
a= an Array of values
n= number of items in Array
a has been sorted in descending ordered from highest to lowest value

for i = 0 to n-1
max = i
for j = 0 to n-1
if a[j]>a[i-1]
max = j
end if
endfor
temp = a[j]
a[j] = a[j-1]
a[j-1]=temp
endfor

All of the research I have found has only shown ascending order formulas, so if I am wrong with my if statement and the temp statement and they should i+1 and a[j+1] can you please give a shake of the head; that way I can read my research further and edit my work.

If I am on track a nod of the head is a big encouragement.

Regards

BP

sunfighter
12-18-2011, 02:06 AM
Blowpipe, this is the javascript form. What language did you need help in?

venegal
12-18-2011, 04:20 AM
All of the research I have found has only shown ascending order formulas, so if I am wrong with my if statement and the temp statement and they should i+1 and a[j+1] can you please give a shake of the head;

That's a big shake of the head. The boundaries for the inner loop are wrong, as is the logic for getting the maximum value, and to top it off, you're constantly trying to exchange the very last value with one that doesn't exist, instead of exchanging the maximum with the leftmost value that isn't sorted yet.

I strongly suspect that you don't actually know how selectionsort works, and I recommend you look into that a bit more before trying to rewrite your code.

Also, whatever your assignment says, write real code instead of pseudocode, so you can actually have a look at what's going on.

Philip M
12-18-2011, 09:42 AM
Descending is exactly the same algorithm as ascending but with the < sign in the swap changed to >.