...

View Full Version : Checkbox issue



fractal5
11-21-2011, 05:52 PM
Firstly, hi, my first post in these forums.

Onto to my problem. I have a set of checkboxes and a button that selects them all. I am able to do this via Javascript.

Javascript:


function SelectAll2() {
boxnum = 0;
for (boxnum=0; boxnum <= 12; boxnum++){
document.cform.criteria[boxnum].checked = true;
}
}


I also have a button that submits the values of all selected checkboxes to a php form. This I've also achieved.

Form with button:


<FORM action="http://localhost/mycode.php" name=optionsform METHOD="POST">
<input type="checkbox" name="criteria[]" value="check1">
<input type="checkbox" name="criteria[]" value="check2">

<INPUT TYPE=SUBMIT VALUE="SORT" >
</form>



The problem I am not able to do both of them with the same script. That is when selecting all boxes using javascript, I have to name the checkboxes as "criteria".
But for the php to work I have to name them as "criteria[]". I can change this to "critera[]" but then I have to use $_GET but I'd rather use $_POST.

So any suggestions on how I can work around this? Any help is appreciated, thanks.

tangoforce
11-21-2011, 06:34 PM
You need to give the checkboxes an id and then target them using that in your javascript instead of the name. The name is important for server side scripts. For client side JS always use an id.

fractal5
11-22-2011, 01:02 AM
Thanks, I've managed to do that using 'getElementById' now.

tangoforce
11-22-2011, 01:16 AM
Please would you ask your javascript questions in the html/javascript forums?

fractal5
11-22-2011, 02:21 AM
I wasn't sure if I should put it in Javascript or the PHP forum, since the code pertained to both. I was looking for a solution for either script.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum