...

View Full Version : website suspended because of thumb.php



andreysc7
11-18-2011, 07:02 PM
Hi,

Recently my website was suspended because of a file called thumb.php . They said that this file have many requests on their server and it cause huge waste of bandwidth (even if they said that the bandwidth is unlimited - lies) . Can anyone help me to modify this file ? Please.

The website is tutorial-z.com as you can see I am a 3D designer, so take it slow when you will explain :)

You can see the file here :
http://tutorial-z.com/thumb.rar

Adee
11-18-2011, 07:06 PM
People aren't going to download your file.. Copy and paste the source code into pastebin.com or something.

andreysc7
11-18-2011, 07:10 PM
Done :)

Sorry , I didn't knew. Here is the link

http://pastebin.com/vBnNNb24

kbluhm
11-18-2011, 08:21 PM
Since you haven't showed us how you are/were using it... if you were using it's external thumbnailing functionality... to resize an external image, it must first download the image to the local server prior to processing. If you have a popular site, that is a lot of traffic as each image request is theoretically doubling the bandwidth as each single requests becomes two. I'm not super familiar with this tom thumb thing, but without looking further into it, I'm not sure if it requests the file each time or checks last modified time and compares that with any existing cache. Also, how long is the file cached? There are a number of issues to take into consideration.

Also, who is your host? Is it one of those $3.99/mo, unlimited-everything hosts? Stay far away from those if you want your site to maintain reliable uptime!

andreysc7
11-18-2011, 08:30 PM
Since you haven't showed us how you are/were using it... if you were using it's external thumbnailing functionality... to resize an external image, it must first download the image to the local server prior to processing. If you have a popular site, that is a lot of traffic as each image request is theoretically doubling the bandwidth as each single requests becomes two. I'm not super familiar with this tom thumb thing, but without looking further into it, I'm not sure if it requests the file each time or checks last modified time and compares that with any existing cache. Also, how long is the file cached? There are a number of issues to take into consideration.

Also, who is your host? Is it one of those $3.99/mo, unlimited-everything hosts? Stay far away from those if you want your site to maintain reliable uptime!

Trust me, when my account will be close to expire I will change them . I am using fatcow as hosting company . The tim thumb is used on this website www.hainutze.com . The images have a pretty high resolution, can be because of that ? And can you also recommend a good hosting company . I was planning to switch to hostgator but I would like to hear more opinions. Thanks :)

kbluhm
11-18-2011, 09:25 PM
I have used hostgator for years now and they have been phenomenal. I have also used jaguarpc with zero complaints.

I can't speak to how they would accept your use of this script without seeing how you've actually utilized it. It may just be a crappy host being anal retentive.

With high resolution images, the larger issue would be processing power as opposed to bandwidth. If the images are also external, then bandwidth is thrown into the mix and just compounds the issue.

myfayt
11-19-2011, 01:47 AM
Trust me, when my account will be close to expire I will change them . I am using fatcow as hosting company . The tim thumb is used on this website www.hainutze.com . The images have a pretty high resolution, can be because of that ? And can you also recommend a good hosting company . I was planning to switch to hostgator but I would like to hear more opinions. Thanks :)

Oh man I used to have fatcow and I got rid of that asap. I paid for a year and transferred in 4 months, so slow and site was down alot and horrible tech support.

I've used hostmonster for 5 years and it's been the best yet. I've used 5 or 6 hosting companies and I love hostmonster. Plus it's an American company!

andreysc7
11-19-2011, 10:17 AM
The images are hosted on the website . Is there anything that I can do ? If I need to modify that file, or replace it, can you tell me what I can do ? If its necessary I will pay someone . Please, I don't want to suspend my website again :( . I have my portfolio there and its also on my visit card . I am loosing possible clients . Because hainutze.com and tutorial-z.com are on the same host, and if they will block and website, they block every website hosted on that account :(



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum