...

View Full Version : Script to open link in IE instead of current browser



jumpnetwork
11-08-2011, 08:06 AM
Hello All,

I am searching for a solution for a friend of mine.

He has a new website, that runs perfectly in Firefox, and Chrome, however not in Internet Explorer.

He runs IE6 in XP. Yes, i konw, IE6.

The issue is that there is a program that will ONLY run in IE6. Upgrade IE, and it will not work. There is no option here.

So what I am trying to find is some sort of coding that in Firefox / Chrome, that when that coding is reached (could be a plain .html or .php document) that ie6 will then open up for that page to be viewed.

This will enable my friend, to use their new website in either firefox or chrome, however when that program is required, and they click on the link in firefox or chrome, then ie6 will open up and off they go.

Any ideas?

Chris.

felgall
11-08-2011, 09:08 AM
IE6 is almost completely dead so any sites that only work there are almost completely dead as well.

There is no way to force people to run a particular browser and IE6 will not even run on modern operating systems and so is not even an option for people running a 2010+ computer.

The only solution is for whoever wrote the application to rewrite it to work on the internet.

Excavator
11-08-2011, 09:37 AM
Hello jumpnetwork,
Here a little addon to FireFox that opens a page or link in IE6 - http://ieview.roub.net/

monlorf
11-08-2011, 02:55 PM
programs that are built on internet explorer are one of the biggest reasons why it took so long for Ie6 to die. I would educate your friends on security issues with IE6 and advise him to find an alternative app.

felgall
11-08-2011, 07:36 PM
addon to FireFox that opens a page or link in IE6

That would open IE8 or IE9 for most people - only computers over two years old can even run IE6 or 7 now. That's why Microsoft declared IE6 to be dead last year and why such small percentages of people are still using IE6 and 7 - only the people using old computers who don't have any security installed are still running IE6 (since if they had security installed it would have upgraded them automatically by now given the thousands of known security holes in IE6).

Microsoft had wanted to declare IE6 to be dead years earlier but were delayed because so many people refused to install the security patch (called IE7).

Excavator
11-08-2011, 07:43 PM
That would open IE8 or IE9 for most people

I understand how the script works. I am under the impression that the OP's friend want to run this program under IE6 on his computer. I'm assuming he has IE6 installed on that computer ...

He doesn't really say he wants to open IE6 on anyone elses computer.

felgall
11-08-2011, 09:38 PM
He doesn't really say he wants to open IE6 on anyone elses computer.

In that case it would solve the problem if that person decided to use Firefox as their main browser.

Excavator
11-09-2011, 12:38 AM
The only solution is for whoever wrote the application to rewrite it to work on the internet.



By far the best solution.

jumpnetwork
11-09-2011, 09:51 AM
Hello Excavator,

Thanks for that Extension, it works a dream.

Added the URL of the site that can only work in IE6, and it opens fine.

Yes IE6 is the version of IE on the computers.

I installed Firefox 3.6.4 and the Addon works well. However if you try and install Firefox 8.0 then the addon that is supposed to work, does not work at all.

But 3.6.4 Firefox works extreemly well.

And my friend has no alternative to using IE6. The company that requires IE6 is actually a multi million dollar company in Australia, that only uses the stable version of ie6, although they are redeveloping for ie8, however at this stage ie6 is the only one that works.

Thanks for the help,

Chris.

felgall
11-09-2011, 07:10 PM
although they are redeveloping for ie8

That's a rather stupid thing for them to do given that IE10 is about to be released and future versions of Windows will not be supporting IE9 and earlier.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum