View Full Version : Table Structure Help, Please

11-03-2011, 05:13 PM
I am looking for advice concerning, I think, foreign keys.

I am a loooong-time developer but my experience with SQL was brief and long ago (about 15 years)

Here's a simplified example of what I think I want to do:

I have 5 tables in a db.
3 are self-contained,
1 has references to two of the tables the self-contained tables
1 is mostly a table of relationships between other tables.

People, Companies, PhoneNumbers, Committees & CommitteeMembers
With the following structures

People (self-contained)
date of birth

Companies (self-contained)

Committees (self-contained)

PhoneNumbers (references to People and Companies)

CommitteeMembers (Is mostly a link between the Committee table and the People table -- with a some reference to companies possible. In the truest sense of the word, it is a relational table)
Date joined
Date left

In the People table I have

id name address DOB
1 John Doe Main St 19900101
2 Mary Doe Main St 19910202
3 Joe Blogs Broadway 19920303
4 Santa Claus North Pole 10101

In the Companies table I have

id name address industry
1 Acme Widgets First st Manufacturing
2 Beta Electronics Second St High Tech
3 Toy Makers N. Pole Manufacturing

In the Committees table I have

Id Name Description
1 CREEP Committee to Re-Elect the President
2 LPG Lollipop guild

Here's the Foreign-key candidate, I think.

For the table PhoneNumbers

Id fromtable table_id phone_number type Sequence
1 1 1 888-555-1212 Home 1
2 1 1 877-222-3333 Work 1
3 1 1 888-555-2323 Home 2
4 1 2 888-555-2323 Home 1
5 2 1 877-222-3333 Main 1
6 1 4 866-111-1111 Mobile 1

So the first 3 entries relate to the Peoples table, which I am referring to as table 1, and relates to John Doe, (from table, ID #1) and are his primary home number, his primary work number and his secondary home number.
the 4th entry is Mary Doe's Primary home number. (Which, coincidentally, is John Doe's secondary home number)