...

View Full Version : My eyes must be bad or brain fried. IE sucks.



boogily
11-03-2011, 05:39 AM
I am creating a 2 column layout that breaks in IE8 and lower. The left side is a fixed width, the right side liquid.

I'm basically floating something to the left, and want the rest of the content to not go underneath it. This was simply done by adding margin-left.

Its real basic (HTML5 elements -- which get generated in IE through JS -- works). Here is the culprit source:
<header>
<hgroup class="left"><img src="images/header.png" width="641" height="393" class="headerimg"></hgroup>
<hgroup class="right">
<h1>This is what we're about</h1>
<p>Our Staff is what can turn a project into a "knockout" project. Whether it is in house or our local business partners or collaborators, we can tackle your job with ease.</p>
<p>Plus, we love bacon.</p>
</hgroup>

Here is the corresponding css:
header {
width:80%;
margin:10px auto 0;
}
hgroup.left {
display: inline;
float: left;
}
hgroup.right {
margin-left:650px;
}

So, what am I missing? It works properly in all browsers except IE8 and below. I've been staring at this screen for 16+ and probably am missing something so simple. Thanks for any help. Here is a URL. (it should line up with the monitor on the left, text on the right)

http://www.happydogwebproductions.com/html5/int/

Excavator
11-03-2011, 05:49 AM
Hello Boogily,
Is that all the CSS? I don't see .left getting a width from anything. Earlier versions of IE are going to want a width.

Have a look at this example of a 2-column layout (http://nopeople.com/CSS%20tips/simple_2-column/index.html).

boogily
11-03-2011, 05:53 AM
It's more of a template, so I don't want to assign a width, since the width may vary from page to page.

Excavator
11-03-2011, 06:04 AM
It's more of a template, so I don't want to assign a width, since the width may vary from page to page.

But you do. You specificly leave 650px room for it with your left margin on .right.

boogily
11-03-2011, 04:02 PM
Haha! Thats what being in front of the computer for so long will do. Actually my error was not setting the hgroup as display block. Thanks for the help though :thumbsup:



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum