...

View Full Version : creating favicon



chelvis
07-30-2003, 07:50 PM
I have to Create a favicon for our company website. Can I do this with any macromedia products? like flash, fireworks etc? Or I have to buy any software?

MotherNatrsSon
07-30-2003, 08:04 PM
Search the forum for favicon. There is a thread with free sites to create a favicon. You should be able to do it in Fireworks, assuming it is similar to Photoshop.

MNS

ionsurge
07-30-2003, 08:05 PM
http://www.codingforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=22794

All you need is either an icon, or a bitmap file (.bmp) either will work.

chelvis
07-31-2003, 03:25 PM
Thanks a lot. I went to the page ionsurge suggested. So if I create a favicon for PC, then it wont work in Mac? Meaning for Mac, I have to use a different software to create the favicon?

MotherNatrsSon
07-31-2003, 03:35 PM
Originally posted by chelvis
Thanks a lot. I went to the page ionsurge suggested. So if I create a favicon for PC, then it wont work in Mac? Meaning for Mac, I have to use a different software to create the favicon?

The same favicon will work on both. If you are using a Mac you need a different application than on a PC to create one is all.

MNS

rhs
07-31-2003, 03:48 PM
Hi,

I think it is best to create only one favicon with a .ico extension because most current versions of browsers for the Mac platform donot support favicon ( atleast iam sure of IE 5.2.2 for OS X, IE 5.0 for classic, Nestcape 4.72.. for classic.

The only browser that i could see the favicon.ico was the new Safari 1.0 from www.Apple.com

Majority of the visitors are going to use the PC platform in anycase.

If you so desire, you may create the .icns file and use some platform detection and redirect, but in my opinion its not worth the trouble.


regards

RHS

chelvis
08-01-2003, 06:19 PM
Yes, its not worth creating different icons for different platforms. Thanks for your help :)

MotherNatrsSon
08-01-2003, 06:39 PM
I am on a Mac favicons work in Netscape 7 on my machine and no one in their right mind on a Mac uses IE 5 with the security problems associated with it. IE 5.1.6 is "the fix" for that one. I am also running OS 9.2 I will check out Mozilla in a bit but I can't have Netscape and Mozilla run at the same time.

MNS

bradyj
08-01-2003, 08:22 PM
On a Mac, I can see a favicon on any Mozilla builds (netscape included, just not the old 4), opera, Safari, etc... just not IE. So I wouldn't worry about it -- it'll work fine for us mac users, and besides... I still make them, but I don't even like them have the time:)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum