View Full Version : Photoshop: Resizing Images (shrinking) Causes Transparency

cineweekly.com
09-23-2011, 07:18 AM
Why, when shrinking images, does the outermost pixel (not always all edges) become semi transparent? I figured some sort of aliasing thing but can't solve it. I can usually figure out Photoshop since I've been using it for nearly 13 years but I can't pinpoint this.

http://i55.tinypic.com/14lr5hh.png

I don't think it happens when resampling "bilinear" but I don't like that option.

cineweekly.com
09-24-2011, 03:39 AM
So does anyone know what's causing this and how to prevent it?

morongo47
09-24-2011, 06:56 AM
I never noticed it until you posted. But your right, I zoomed in to 800% and there it was. I guess it's some sort of artifact from the resizing algo, I don't have a clue.

I haven't run across any other posts about it, it's pretty unnoticeable unless it's pointed out, I guess that's why.

Does it mess with your image composting at all?

cineweekly.com
09-24-2011, 09:00 PM
It's noticeable for my site because I use a dark background and this causes a light border that makes the images stand out when I don't want them to. I have to add a black background layer underneath or crop out a pixel layer. It's just an unnecessary step that I'd like to avoid.

Apostropartheid
09-25-2011, 01:09 AM
This happens when the image is not snapped to the nearest pixel. This is the smallest measurement possible, so Photoshop makes it semi-transparent to give the illusion it's midway between the pixels.

gcmax
09-26-2011, 05:03 PM
No, the reason is image interpolation, here is the remedy;

Go to edit, preferences, general and then change the "Image Interpolation:" dropdown to "Nearest Neighbour (preserve hard edges)".

Now you will find that image resizing and free transforming will be free of this phenomena.

cineweekly.com
09-28-2011, 10:11 PM
No, the reason is image interpolation, here is the remedy;