View Full Version : Menu problem with IE7

09-13-2011, 05:38 PM
Hi All,

I was almost done with my website so i tought lets check it out in a few browsers. Now i noticed that my menu is totaly different in IE7 all newer browsers work fine. The hover images is only until have and the submenu is not in the right place.

Anybody some hacks or other things i should change?

my site:

09-21-2011, 11:31 AM
Any knows a way to fix this?


09-21-2011, 01:58 PM
It's a very time-consuming thing to discover and fix errors in nested (2-level) menus. That's probably why nobody responded. However, there is a tutorial with which rewriting it so that it does become cross-browser becomes really easy. See Create a Drowdown/Flyout Menu with CSS (http://www.website-laten-maken-amsterdam-nh.nl/blog/how-to-make-a-menu-with-css.php). That tut might also give you the insight to fix the problem without rewriting the whole thing.

Please let us know how things worked out.

09-21-2011, 04:04 PM
Thank you frank, i will try that out and see if it will help.

09-21-2011, 04:41 PM
#nav li.subNav ul {
display: none;
position: absolute;
top: 31px;
z-index: 10;

should sort out your dropdowns being in the wrong place. And

#nav ul li {
float: left;
font: 0.75em/1.5em Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;
padding-bottom: 16px;
padding-top: 15px;
position: relative;
text-align: center;
text-transform: uppercase;

sorts out the hover behaviour I think.

09-22-2011, 04:24 AM
Thank you frank, i will try that out and see if it will help.

I felt obliged to also write a tutorial on dropdown menus with variable width for the main menu items and their submenus, such as is the case in your site. Check out v. 2.0 of Create a Dropdown/Flyout Menu with CSS (http://www.website-laten-maken-amsterdam-nh.nl/blog/how-to-make-a-menu-with-css.php). Tested with and found in order in IE6 through Chrome 13.

09-22-2011, 04:16 PM
Thanks a million SB! Those 2 simple things did the trick!