...

View Full Version : Taking multiple html fields & placing in database



lankanmon
09-02-2011, 07:55 AM
Hi guys,
I am creating a poll like thing ware one can create a questioner including a question "question_1" and then multiple answers "question_1_1, question_1_2, question_1_3, question_1_4, question_1_5". assume that the "question_1_..." are the names of the input fields.

So what i want to know is what the best method (using php) is for taking that content that was submitted and placing it in a database table, so all of it can be in a single row and in a single field (within the same box).

I want to know if its possible to use arrays and if do how should i tackle this. i want to use arrays or something similar because there could be multiple questions and more or less answered (so can not be fixed).

I want to do it to some type of standard, so i know this method for future use.

I have been trying to figure our a way for a couple of days and sifted through many webpages and forums but cant find anything useful.

Any and all help will be appreciated.

sunfighter
09-02-2011, 07:39 PM
See this article:
http://php.about.com/od/finishedphp1...e_poll_php.htm

And for script that doesn't require a database:
http://www.dbscripts.net/poll/

They may help.

lankanmon
09-03-2011, 05:42 AM
Those links are going to help me with some other problems i had, so thanks... but it wont help me with this problem because i can't figure out how to make the php file gather all the dynamic content (submissions) into variable which i can then put into a single string and store into a database.

The problems is... i hv multiple questions and each question can have multiple answers which the user gets to decide since it is expandable using javascript.

now i don't know how to get the content submitted since i don't know how to assign a variable to each since they may or may not exist on submission.

I thought arrays may be the best choice but i don't know how to make the arrays variable name change while in a loop.

is someone that knows can help me out... i would greatly appreciate it.

In short: i am trying to make something like forum polls ware they allow the user to create the questions and the answers, and i want to know how to handle it.

sunfighter
09-03-2011, 04:36 PM
i don't know how to get the content submitted since i don't know how to assign a variable to each since they may or may not exist on submission.

You need to study FORMS. They are basic to programming. I just get the feeling that your pasting together other peoples code trying to get you site working. You should take some time to study html and php.

http://www.w3schools.com/html/default.asp

I'm not being an ***, I'm trying to help.:thumbsup:

lankanmon
09-03-2011, 07:51 PM
You need to study FORMS. They are basic to programming. I just get the feeling that your pasting together other peoples code trying to get you site working. You should take some time to study html and php.

http://www.w3schools.com/html/default.asp

I'm not being an ***, I'm trying to help.:thumbsup:

Thank you for that, but i know how to use forms... i have much experience with them. but this is the first time using dynamic forms... which i hv working fine.. and submitting properly. All my code is my own and i don't ever copy and pate others code... that's just not cool.

I just want to get an idea on how to handle dynamic forms with php which i have not yet encounters and that's why i was asking you for some assistance... i am not asking for code... just something for maybe links to references or other way to handle the code.

BTW: this is kindah what i have so far:

assuming that the html form is expendable (see comments):

<form name="create_form" action="" method="POST">
<p>Poll Title</p>
<input type="text" name="m_title" id="m_title" class="text" />
<p>Description (optional)</p>
<input type="text" name="m_desc" id="m_desc" class="text" />
<p>Question 1: <input type="text" name="question_1" id="question_1" class="text" /></p>
<p>Accepted Answers:</p>
<input type="text" name="answers_1_1" id="answers_1_1" class="text" />
<input type="text" name="answers_1_2" id="answers_1_2" class="text" />
<!-- more answers can be added here using JS -->
<input type="button" style="margin-top:10px;" value="Add Possible Answer" onClick="addPossAnswer('answers_1','answers_1_');" />
<!-- more questions can be added here using JS -->
<input type="button" style="margin-top:10px;" value="Add Question" onClick="addQuestion('questions','question_');" />
<input name="create" type="hidden" value="true">
<input type="submit" value="Create">
</form>


and here is what i hv for the handler (the echo s are there so i can see if its running the way i assime it will




if (isset($_POST['create'])) {
if ($_POST['create'] == 'true') {
$title = $_POST['m_title'];
$desc = $_POST['m_desc'];
$question = 1;
$answer = 1;
$f_safe = 1;
$run = 1;
$answer_active = 1;
$question_active = 1;
$entire_active = 1;
echo "Title: ". $title ."</br>";
echo "Description: ". $desc ."</br>";
do {
do {
echo "Question: ".$question ."</br>";
do {
$answer_st[$answer] = $_POST['answers_'.$question."_".$answer];
echo $answer_st[$answer] ."</br>";
$answer++;
if (!isset($_POST['answers_'.$question."_".$answer])) {
$answer_active = 0;
$answer = 1;
}
} while ($answer_active != 0);
$question++;
if (!isset($_POST['question_'.$question])) {
$question_active = 0;
}
} while ($question_active != 0);
if ($question_active != 0) {
$entire_active = 0;
}
} while ($entire_active != 0);
}
}


also when it gets to the second question it gets the first answer and then skips the rest... and idea why?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum