PDA

View Full Version : Resolved Emergency! - Visiter IP Script Gone



embeebutterly
08-29-2011, 12:46 AM
Hi guys, this is urgent, my whole site depends on it really!

I have been using a script that was here
http://scripts.hashemian.com/js/visitorIPHOST.js.php




BUT NOW ITS GONE!!!:eek:




Some of you may be aware of it.

What it was, was a script to read ip address and i used it alot do decide what info was shown to who on my site. I know it was stupid to depend on an outside script but i have learned from my mistake.

The problem is, WHAT DO I DO NOW????

An example of my code is :


<script language="JavaScript">
VIH_ForeColor = "navy";
VIH_FontPix = "16";
VIH_DisplayFormat = "%%IP%%";
VIH_DisplayOnPage = "no";
</script>
<script language="JavaScript" src="http://scripts.hashemian.com/js/visitorIPHOST.js.php"></script>

<script language="JavaScript" src="http://scripts.hashemian.com/js/visitorIPHOST.js.php"></script>
<script>
if (VIH_HostIP == "111.111.111" || VIH_HostIP ==


well you get the point


Please help me as my site is gone to sh1t now and wont even load for most....


Thanks in advance

webdev1958
08-29-2011, 12:54 AM
BUT NOW ITS GONE!!!:eek:

The problem is, WHAT DO I DO NOW????


Restore it from your backups?

embeebutterly
08-29-2011, 01:08 AM
It was an external script..... i was using it from an external site

Old Pedant
08-29-2011, 01:18 AM
His site is *NOT* hashemian.com. It's a foreign-to-him site, that was, essentially, giving him a web service that told him the IP address of a visitor.

***********

embee: It's really a pretty simple-minded task to create a PHP or ASP or JSP server-side script/code that will do this for you.

I don't know what all those variables in your code controlled in that external script:


VIH_ForeColor = "navy";
VIH_FontPix = "16";
VIH_DisplayFormat = "%%IP%%";
VIH_DisplayOnPage = "no";

But I'm *guessing* that the DisplayOnPage = "no" means that all you really wanted the script to do was plunk the IP address into the JavaScript variable VIM_HostIP

If you have ASP capabilities on your site, then you could do that thus:

Create a file named getIPAddress.asp that has just this code in it:


var VIM_HostIP = "<%=Request.ServerVariables("REMOTE_ADDR")%>";

and then in your HTML page you just do


<script type="text/javascript" src="getIPAddress.asp"></script>


I'm not a PHP person, but I *THINK* the PHP equivalent would to create a file named getIPAddress.php that has just this code:


<?php
echo 'var VIM_HostIP = "' . $_SERVER["REMOTE_ADDR"] . '";';
?>

and then use

<script type="text/javascript" src="getIPAddress.php"></script>
in your HTML.

But, of course, you would need to have a host that offers you either ASP or PHP to make one of those work.

embeebutterly
08-29-2011, 01:36 AM
thank you a million times over Sir Old Pedant! dthis is perfect, simple and is about to restore my site to normal working order, plus, i no longer have to rely on an outside script. Thank you very much!

Old Pedant
08-29-2011, 01:46 AM
Don't thank me until it works!

webdev1958
08-29-2011, 01:54 AM
It was an external script..... i was using it from an external site

oh ok, I thought you were saying you got the actual code from an eternal site, not actually linking to it which is a dangerous thing to do as you have found out.

embeebutterly
08-29-2011, 01:58 AM
Don't thank me until it works!


I tested it mate it works! Your a lightsaber!

_______________________________________________

For anyone reading this (and for search engine)

What i use to get the users IP address is a php file with the following:


<?php
echo 'var VIM_HostIP = "' . $_SERVER["REMOTE_ADDR"] . '";';
?>

Thank you once again Old Pedant :thumbsup:

Old Pedant
08-29-2011, 02:22 AM
Good. Was doing minor guessing on the PHP code, but the docs seemed clear enough. And the analogy to ASP is pretty easy to see.