View Full Version : When using php do you have to use mysql_store_result()?

08-24-2011, 03:31 AM
I've never used mysql_store_result(), in fact, I've never even heard of it until just the other day.

This is where I found it: http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.6/en/mysql-store-result.html

Also, how do I use this in php?

// I've tried this:
$storeResult = mysql_query("mysql_store_result(". $queryResult .")", $sqlConnect);

// and this:
$storeResult = mysql_query("mysql_store_result()", $sqlConnect);

// In both cases the result is a 1


08-24-2011, 04:22 AM
Maybe in some distant part you had to use it. But I've never heard of it before seeing your post and I have never used it when running update or data retrieval queries from php. It looks like your link is referencing an old version manual.

08-24-2011, 04:37 AM
I have updated the link for the new version of MySQL. It is the same article though.

I only ask because they seem to feel so strongly about it. However, PHP might do this automatically; I don't know.