...

View Full Version : Show/Hide div issues with Firefox



waterintofunk
08-19-2011, 08:56 PM
Hello,

For starters I'm a real javascript noob. The problem is I've got some code which which should display the contents of a div depending on which of two radio buttons are selected. Works fine in IE, but in Firefox, or even Safari it will display both divs if both are clicked. In other words it won't hide the div while it displays the other.

The code is below, and any help would be appreciated.




<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
<HTML>
<HEAD>
<TITLE> Help! </TITLE>

<style type="text/css">
.hide {display: none}
</style>

<script type="text/javascript">
function hideDivArea(str_area_hide){
tag = document.getElementsByTagName("div");
for(x=0;x<tag.length; x++)
{
if(tag[x].getAttribute('id').indexOf(str_area_hide) != -1)
{
tag[x].style.display = "none";
}
}
}
function showDivArea(areas_show, areas_hide){

for (var i = 0; i < areas_show.length; i++)
{
ge = document.getElementById(areas_show[i]);
ge.style.display = "block";
}
for (var i = 0; i < areas_hide.length; i++)
{
hideDivArea(areas_hide[i]);
}
}
</script>
</HEAD>

<BODY>

<form action="feedout.php" method="post">
<input type="hidden" name="action" value="sendmail" />
<table style="width: 435px" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tbody>
<tr>
<td height="15" valign="bottom">Do you Own or Rent?:<span class="redtext">*</span></td>
<td valign="bottom">&nbsp;</td>
</tr>
<tr height="30">
<td colspan="2">
<div>
<input type="radio" name="ownRent" value="own" size="34" onclick="javascript:showDivArea(['own'], ['rent'])">Own
<input type="radio" name="ownRent" value="rent" size="34" onclick="javascript:showDivArea(['rent'], ['own'])">Rent

<div class="hide" id="own">
Lawyer Name:<br />
<input type="text" name="lawyerName" size="34"><br />
Address:<br />
<input type="text" name="lawyerAddress" size="34"><br />
Telephone Number:<br />
<input type="text" name="lawyerPhone" size="34"><br />
</div>
<div class="hide" id="rent">
Landlord Name:<br />
<input type="text" name="landlordName" size="34"><br />
Address:<br />
<input type="text" name="landlordAddress" size="34"><br />
Telephone Number:<br />
<input type="text" name="landlordPhone" size="34"><br />
</div>
</div>
</td>
<tr>
<td>
<table width="240" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tbody>
<tr>
<td width="105" colspan="1" valign="middle" bordercolor="#000000" bgcolor="#ffffff">
<input style="border: solid 1px black;" type="submit" value="Submit Form">
</td>
<td width="20" height="35"> &nbsp;&nbsp;
</td>
<td width="54" valign="middle"><input style="border: solid 1px black;" name="reset" type="reset" value="Clear Form"> </span></td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table>
</td>
<td>&nbsp;</td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table>
</form>
</BODY>
</HTML>

Old Pedant
08-19-2011, 09:13 PM
I think that code is *WAY* overly complex.

Change these lines:


<script type="text/javascript">
function showRentOrOwn(which)
{
document.getElementById("own").style.display = which=="own" ? "block" : "none";
document.getElementById("rent").style.display = which=="rent" ? "block" : "none";
}
</script>

...

<label><input type="radio" name="ownRent" value="own" size="34" onclick="showRentOrOwn('own')">Own</label>
<label><input type="radio" name="ownRent" value="rent" size="34" onclick="showRentOrOwn('rent')">Rent</label>

...

<td width="54" valign="middle">
<input style="border: solid 1px black;" name="reset" type="reset"
value="Clear Form" onclick="showRentOrOwn('neither');">
</td>



You don't have to add the <label>s, but they allow the user to click on the word or the radio button.

You need to add that call in the reset button or the last shown div will stay shown.

waterintofunk
08-19-2011, 09:35 PM
Wow! Thank you. Also, extra thanks for pointing out the lack of label tags.

jovadviser
08-20-2011, 01:39 AM
Have you tried using css

p.show { display: block }
p.hide { display: none; }


you can say

document.getElementById("id").className="hide";

Old Pedant
08-20-2011, 08:59 PM
100% agreed. But the important part is that with only the two <div>s, the easiest solution is to simply set each one's display (directly or by classname) on each radio button change.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum