View Full Version : Random Question Generator

emination
08-19-2011, 01:45 AM
Hey I'm somewhat new to the javascript world because 95% of my website is HTML so, if you will, I need help writing the javascript for a Random Question Generator...basicly all I have is

<script type="text/javascript">
var Q = new Array()
Q[1] = "What is your favorite color?";
Q[2] = "What is your favorite animal?";
Q[3] = "What is your favorite place?";
</script>

In the real one, there will be about 20 questions and I will need it to choose a quetion randomly out of the 20. As I said i am a beginer so as simple as possible would be great. Thank You for your help in advance:)

jmrker
08-19-2011, 01:52 AM
As a start, use post #20 and after from http://www.codingforums.com/showthread.php?t=235040&page=2

It has a lot more than you have provided thus far.

emination
08-19-2011, 02:03 AM
I looked at it but it seemed to complex for what I need, please help.

Old Pedant
08-19-2011, 02:15 AM
Do you only need one question out of the set? Or do you need to be able to display N questions (you pick N)? If you need N, then do you want them all to show up when the page first opens or should they appear one at a time?

emination
08-19-2011, 02:24 AM
I need the questions to show up one at a time but at random, do you get what I'm trying to make? Thanks for the help :)

Old Pedant
08-19-2011, 03:43 AM
// simpler way to make the array:
var questions = [
"What is your favorite color?",
"What is your favorite animal?".
"What is your favorite place?"
];

var question = questions[ Math.floor( Math.random() * questions.length ) ];
document.write( '<div id="TheQuestion">' + question + '</div>' );
</script>

The document.write and the div are just an example of usage.

You can put as many strings in the array as you want. Put a comma after all except the last one.

jmrker
08-19-2011, 04:45 AM
I looked at it but it seemed to complex for what I need, please help.

// simpler way to make the array: