...

View Full Version : WTB: website cloning



flock9
08-05-2011, 01:00 AM
Hello all (new here),

I need a website cloned. It is a groupon-like website, but a localized version, and I need it cloned in a very short time. Budget is up for discussion.

I would also need later on a web-designer who would re-skin the website (I already have the designs).

For more information (i.e. link to the original site) please contact me via PM.

Thanks,

Alex

akeemed
08-18-2011, 01:33 PM
Hi

I have groupon clone website. email me at akeemed.php@hotmail.com

Thanks & Regards
Akeemed :thumbsup:

GuyMark
10-07-2011, 08:48 PM
Hello.

I am also after a cloning system - but trying to find something which will allow for just partial cloning. I know from googling that there are some apps which will allow certain pages to be excluded from a cloning but ideally, I would like to be able to set some sort of "flag" in the page source so that when the page is cloned, items marked between flags are left as per the original copy.

Eg: Main company has a contact page with new photographs most days of sunsets etc (travel company) but at the bottom are regional contact numbers. I can get the website folks to add whatever flags I need - but then I need the cloning prog to read the main website, duplicate it locally but leave any material within flags unchanged (local contact numbers, regional price flashes etc)

I have googled (a lot) to try and find cloning apps - and have found that there are some which will allow a PARTIAL cloning but this seems to be on a "page by page" basis instead of a "PART of page".

It may be that there is nothing that currently does this - but didn't want to try and get someone writing new code if someone out there could say "Ohhh, you need the new clonebits 2000 program". - Just trying not to re-invent a wheel.

Any comments welcome - if it helps I can even get the publisher of the main site to publish to a nominated server - so can have page source on hand - but I still need to be able to have the local material replace the original material in an automated way if at all possible.

Kind Regards

Mark

MattF
10-07-2011, 10:17 PM
1) You should start a separate thread rather than jumping on someone elses.

2) You should be designing the code running the site to do all of the necessary localisations rather than running multiple copies with minor changes.

apps.dev
10-08-2011, 06:10 PM
Hi,

Sounds Good & interesting.

Basically i am a multi talented Freelance Web Developer with extensive experience in design & development using Ruby on Rails, Python, PHP, Flex, Django and Drupal including complex Python ,Django/Postgress bug Rectification, Android and i OS development

Also I am doing experiments in HTML5, Scala,Haskell and Erlang. Recently Twitter had changed to Scala from Ruby"

I am based in Houston (Texas) and presently working remotely on various projects.

Appreciate an opportunity to work for your project remotely as i am and expert in open source technology.

My hourly rates are "OPEN" including a fixed budget for the project and also ready for a trial work.

My email id : apps dot dev2011 at gmail dot com

Skype ID - ranjitattingal

Thanks!!

GuyMark
10-09-2011, 04:19 AM
1. Fair point - as original query seemed to have been answered, I didn't think it would harm OP's thread and would avoid clutter. However will just start new thread in future.

2. Thanks for the idea - but although the overseas business are prepared to add comment flags to code, that is about the limit of their ability to assist and be able to continue being able to edit / amend their own code. (It is not "my website" to design), I just have a brief to make local versions of it work without waiting for them to do them. Hence the need to find a workaround.




1) You should start a separate thread rather than jumping on someone elses.

2) You should be designing the code running the site to do all of the necessary localisations rather than running multiple copies with minor changes.

agriya
10-25-2011, 10:04 AM
I'm confused, are we talking about cloning as in making a website with the same features as another website? If so, there are plenty of groupon clones (http://www.google.com/search?q=groupon+clone) available, a quick google search will give you a list as long as your arm.

Mark, did you ever get your cloning problem solved? I think you are talking about copying the content from one page to another. Do you own the site you are copying from? My company has done a lot of 'screenscraping' where we can lift certain bits of data off a website and store it in a database. If this sounds something like what you are looking for please get in touch with us info@agriya.com and mention that Peter sent you from this forum.

Thanks,

Peter



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum