...

View Full Version : program using div tag



ravi9510
08-01-2011, 01:19 PM
hi all ,
can u tell me how to modify this html code using <div> tag....


<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" dir="ltr" lang="en-EN">
<head>
<script src="jquery-1.2.1.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<script src="menu-collapsed.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="style.css" />
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />
<title>Simple JQuery Collapsing menu</title>
<style type="text/css">
li a
{
display:inline-block;
}
li a
{
display:block;
}
</style>
</head>
<body>
<h1>Simple JQuery Collapsing menu</h1>
<p>Same menu as seen <a href="./">here</a> but now as a simple collapsing menu.</p>
<ul id="menu">

<li>
<a href="#">Weblog Tools</a>
<ul>
<li><a href="http://www.pivotx.net/">PivotX</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.wordpress.org/">WordPress</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.textpattern.com/">Textpattern</a></li>
<li><a href="http://typosphere.org/">Typo</a></li>
</ul>
</li>

<li>
<a href="#">Programming Languages</a>
<ul>
<li><a href="http://www.php.net/">PHP</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ruby-lang.org/en/">Ruby</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.python.org/">Python</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.perl.org/">PERL</a></li>
<li><a href="http://java.sun.com/">Java</a></li>
<li><a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/C_Sharp">C#</a></li>
</ul>
</li>

<li><a href="http://www.i-marco.nl/weblog/">Marco's blog (no submenu)</a></li>

<li>
<a href="#">Cool Stuff</a>
<ul>
<li><a href="http://www.apple.com/">Apple</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.nikon.com/">Nikon</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.xbox.com/en-US/">XBOX360</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.nintendo.com/">Nintendo</a></li>
</ul>
</li>

<li>
<a href="#">Search Engines</a>
<ul>
<li><a href="http://search.yahoo.com/">Yahoo!</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.google.com/">Google</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.ask.com/">Ask.com</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.live.com/?searchonly=true">Live Search</a></li>
</ul>
</li>
</body>
</html>

vikram1vicky
08-01-2011, 01:39 PM
Why you want change it and what issue with this code

ravi9510
08-01-2011, 02:19 PM
instead of using paragraphs and list ...can we use only div tag...
whether is it possible

VIPStephan
08-01-2011, 03:14 PM
Of course it’s possible but it’s not semantic (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Semantic_HTML).

Good reads:

Introduction to Semantic HTML (http://www.webdesignfromscratch.com/html-css/semantic-html/)
Divitis: What it is and how to avoid it (http://www.apaddedcell.com/div-itis-what-it-and-how-avoid-it)

ravi9510
08-02-2011, 06:07 AM
actually we are using div tag instead of paragraphs or for some other purpose.....can u give me one example...what is the use of div tag......

Sammy12
08-02-2011, 06:32 AM
the <div> tag has become more of a structural part of the page. it's a "divison" of the page. you have a header, a content, a column in that content. essentially these are all defined as divisions.

however, it can also be used if something is neither a paragraph or a heading (h1, h2..)

VIPStephan
08-02-2011, 12:14 PM
however, it can also be used if something is neither a paragraph or a heading (h1, h2..)

Unless itís a list where list items are semantically the only right choice.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum