View Full Version : Help: Multiple conditions in the WHERE clause

grant_p
07-30-2011, 04:29 PM
Hi guys,

Can anybody point me in the right direction on how to structure my query below, to check the REGION field in my database for one of two conditions

ie: The region field must contain any PHP region variable passed to it and find it, and it should also find all entries where the region value = national, and obviously the product and enabled fields need to match...

eg: REGION = 'DALLAS' OR REGION = 'NATIONAL' should return all entries containing the region stored as DALLAS as well as all entries containing a value of NATIONAL

I have tried with the following query without any luck:

$sql = "SELECT * FROM products WHERE REGION = '".$region."' OR REGION = 'NATIONAL' AND PRODUCT = 'Engine Block' AND ENABLED='1' order by PRODUCT_ID asc";

I am guessing that it is failing because of the combination of conditions OR and the AND's in the where clause... I am a beginner as far as MYSQL goes, and I have search high and low for a better way to structure this query where it actually does what I need, but couldn't find anything with my limited knowledge.

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
Grant

sunfighter
07-30-2011, 05:53 PM
First off,
This line "...stored as DALLAS as well as all entries containing..." means you should use and AND not the OR your using.

I also suggest you check each WHERE separately and combine them one at a time once you are sure they work.

Old Pedant
07-30-2011, 09:53 PM
Sunfighter is way off base.

There is NO POSSIBLE WAY that *any* record will *EVER* be found with the query

SELECT * FROM products WHERE REGION = 'DALLAS' AND REGION = 'NATIONAL'

There is no way for a single record to be *BOTH* 'DALLAS' *AND* 'NATIONAL'.

No, the problem is PRECEDENCE OF OPERATORS.

Consider this problem:

What is 3 + 2 * 5 ?

If you answered 25, gp back to primary school math class.