...

View Full Version : Please help me with CSS navigation menu.



boyfrom75
07-27-2011, 01:45 AM
Please someone help me with CSS navigation menu.

The reason I'm asking help is because I don't have money to pay a developer to make this small change in my website. I post in Craigslist and people want more than $70 per page. I think is to much because I just want to move the navigation menu to the right and the logo to the top.

I created this website using a template. But I'm a HTML person and I don't have an idea how to edit CSS.

Please someone help me to edit the CSS file.. If I have to make a small donation by paypal I will, but don't ask too much.

The website is: laundrysavers.com
http://laundrysavers.com/style.css

The problem is: I need to add 2 more tabs in the navigation menu, but there is no more space because the logo is on the way.
To solbe this problem I need to move the logo to the top and the nabigation menu under the logo , so I can make a little longer and add 2 more tabs total 7 tabs.

Please let me know if u need the CSS style file . I'm sure you can find it on the scripts.

Sammy12
07-27-2011, 01:52 AM
start by moving the <div class="menu"></div> below the <a>, then remove the position: absolute; and margins from the "menu". as you can see I crossed them out

http://i1114.photobucket.com/albums/k535/auroralight1/Untitled-32.png

next, set the height of <div id="header"></div> to 505px instead of 452px

http://i1114.photobucket.com/albums/k535/auroralight1/Untitled-35.png

lastly, set a margin on <div class="menu"></div>

http://i1114.photobucket.com/albums/k535/auroralight1/Untitled-34.png\

Sammy12
07-27-2011, 02:05 AM
I see you used javascript to preload the images, however image sprites are a lot easier in your future endeavors
http://css-tricks.com/158-css-sprites/

Sprite Generator
http://spritegen.website-performance.org/

---

Set the logo <a href="/"></a> instead of index.html, you will see that it takes you to the index automatically, without showing it in the URL

http://i1114.photobucket.com/albums/k535/auroralight1/Untitled-36.png

boyfrom75
07-27-2011, 11:40 PM
Sammy12... You are a very nice person. I didn't expected someone will answer with images and very clear how I'm supposed to make the changes.
Im very thankful what you did for me. I'm going to try the changes you made .. I'll let you know if everything workout ...

Ones again ..thanks o lot for your help .. I'm going to play with this .. I have no idea about CSS but I have to try ...

If I can't do it .. I hope you can acept a donation and do it for me... :) But I have to try very hard to learn css ... Im only 30 and some years old .. I can believe Im forced to jump from HTML to CSS ..

I wish web development should be like mathematics, what you learned when ur a kid you never have to worry about learning new codes and formulas over and over whe the time pass..

Sammy12
07-27-2011, 11:51 PM
It's a pretty small thing. Shy away from a commercial websites like craigslist. There are plenty of people willing to fix small things like this for free. I believe there's also a freelance section of the forums in which is probably relatively cheaper if you do wish to hire someone to script any entire website.

boyfrom75
07-28-2011, 09:05 PM
I couldn't fix the CSS.
I have played for hours and It is just to complicated for me.
I made the changes and when view in the browser its doesn't look correct..
I give up..! I don't know CSS I can understand HTML, but CSS is not my thing,

I made the full website included the creation of the android application, Paypal , Photoshop images , pop up windows for feedback and other things with out any help.. I started the website from a very simple 2 pages template and finished what is now.. BUT I CANT PLAY WITH CSS..! it is to hard for me..

Please someone want to help me and charge a small amount for this code changing on the website.. please tell me how much it will cost..?

Please read my first post in the top and you will see what I want to do, its a very small change.. :confused:

Here are the images of what I need to do ( before and after) dont worry about the images, you can repeat the tabs and I change it latter.. Plus the tabs and the images, logo need it are included in the the ZIP folder.

============== BEFORE THE FIX ==========
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-VsSPcosUGjg/TjG918lFijI/AAAAAAAAADE/R80uzqw_hL8/s720/before.jpg


================ AFTER THE FIX ========
I want to have like this:
1- move the logo to the top
2- add a new image in the top (not necessary but will be happy to have it)
3- and have 7 tabs under the logo... :p
NOTE: I want to have this chang on the CSS to show in all the pages of the side.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-DKdDRzrXNrs/TjG6ahJPq8I/AAAAAAAAACc/D1LqWJeFQ3E/s640/new-website-design.jpg

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-kyV1DeoIYYc/TjG_cL32RaI/AAAAAAAAADU/blMg7DmzVqw/croped-website.jpg

boyfrom75
07-28-2011, 09:31 PM
Here is my website on a Zip folder ( the images for the new buttons are not included, but you can use repeated buttons and i can change it latter. The logo and new image for the top is included on ZIP folder) also the link for new pages are not included, but You can use any link like payments.html and maps.html or anything you want.. I can change it latter, What I really need is the navigation in the correct place and the logo and second image in place..

Please send me a message for how much $ you will help me with this.. But dont ask to much please. Im trying to make a business and Im really broke, If not I will not be asking for help in here..

===> DOWNLOAD my website ZIP FOLDER here <====
http://www.mediafire.com/?xiincp3qn4r8bk6

=========
===
===
===

Sammy12
07-29-2011, 01:06 AM
It's not a big deal, I'll do it for free. Give me a sec.

Sammy12
07-29-2011, 02:24 AM
(notice the post time = more than an hour later)

Nevermind bro. This is too big of a project. I would recommend posting an offer in the freelance section. I started changing a bunch of things from the doctype to your <base> you set. Too big of a project. Took me an hour, ended up doing more bad than good to the page. Once again, this site needs to be redone, it's extremely incorrect and no amount of good changes will fix the header. I think you would have more success restarting the site than fixing all these errors. Well here's some advice:

1. Gain a stronger understanding of css before starting this project on your own!
2. You nested about 8 <divs> on each box trying to give it curved borders.



.curved {
border-radius: 4px;
-webkit-border-radius: 4px;
-moz-border-radius: 4px;
}


3. don't set a <base>. I was extremely confused why my changes weren't taking effect and noticed it was because of a base.

4. strict doctype is for senior coders. start out with transitional

5. set a base font-size. usually 12px;



body {
font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
font-size: 12px;
}


You see, you have a ton of little things like: #header { line-height: 1.5em } that were confusing me. 1.5em for a line-height is huge. you also set values on tags like the <ul>. Every change I made was countered by a little thing like this.

6. use <?php include ?> to insert commonly used things (like the header). I would have to change all 5 of your indexs in order to change the header. And to my displease, they were for the most part all different html wise

Hopefully maybe someone is willing to spend the time to make a free website for you. I consider myself a pretty fast and efficient scripter, so I'm pretty sure this requires a redo if I couldn't fix it in an hour.

At this point, if you want to fix the page, you should probably just use position: absolute; for your header, nav bar, and the image you wanted.

- good luck

boyfrom75
07-29-2011, 02:34 PM
Besause I don't know CSS I made so many crasy changes in every page to make the website work...

But I have the original template , the template is clean with out any changes, I thing I have to post the original template first , after someone make the changes in the clean template I can use it and start making the website on the fixed template...

I'm goig to upload the template here...

Once agein , thank you a lot for all your help, you are a very nice person... and I'm sorry for taking all your time... :)
I didt know I damage all the codes from my website... :(

boyfrom75
07-29-2011, 05:25 PM
Here is the original template: All the css and html are intact.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/tapt08lztd9iqii/my-original-untoched-buckup-site.zip

Sammy12
07-29-2011, 05:37 PM
aight I'll spend another hour. hopefully I can get it to work. gotta lot of other work to do so

Fixed. I pmed you the files

http://i1114.photobucket.com/albums/k535/auroralight1/Untitled-46.png

EDIT: Let me make that logo transparent

http://i1114.photobucket.com/albums/k535/auroralight1/Untitled-47.png

sidgollwitzer
09-28-2011, 12:16 AM
I like the end result. And with pure CSS code that you managed to make work, it is going to work better for the search engines, well done. I am impressed by the help you received from members here!! :) online pokies (http://www.onlinepokiegames.com.au/)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum