View Full Version : Error on line of mysqli_connect()

mad5245
07-26-2011, 06:39 PM
I am implementing a log-in system in an existing website using the JPMaster log-in script (if anyone is familiar). I have the code all written out and it seems correct but when I open it in the browser I get the following error:

"Call to undefined function mysql_connect() in c:/BLAH on line 24"

Line 24 in the file mentioned is as follows:

$this->link = mysqli_connect(DB_SERVER, DB_USER, DB_PASS, DB_NAME);

I also tried this with the constants put right in instead of the variables with no avail. I am sure the constants are correct because I can access the database with MySQL Front using the same constants.

I am fairly new to PHP and MySQL but have experience in java. Below I will post some sections of code from my project.

dbcontroller.php:

public function __construct(){
/*mb_internal_encoding("UTF-8");
mb_regex_encoding("UTF-8");*/
$this->link = mysqli_connect(
DB_SERVER,
DB_USER,
DB_PASS,
DB_NAME);
if (mysqli_connect_errno()) {
exit();
}

constants.php:

define("DB_SERVER", "localhost");
define("DB_USER", "root");
define("DB_PASS", "********");
define("DB_NAME", "login");

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Thank you.

sunfighter
07-27-2011, 06:26 PM
The line

should be
$link = mysqli_connect(DB_SERVER, DB_USER, DB_PASS, DB_NAME);

mad5245
07-27-2011, 10:10 PM
After changing that I still get this when I try to run it:

Call to undefined function mysqli_connect() in C:\....\dbcontroller.php on line 16

Line 16 is what I changed:

Is it possible that I might have something set wrong in my php.ini file?

Fou-Lu
07-28-2011, 01:20 AM
The line

should be

No, this is in the context of an object. $this is required.

After changing that I still get this when I try to run it:

Call to undefined function mysqli_connect() in C:\....\dbcontroller.php on line 16

Line 16 is what I changed:

Is it possible that I might have something set wrong in my php.ini file?