...

View Full Version : 2 Easy Questions; Load time on fonts worth it? & Suggest a contact form change?



Mike Walker
07-22-2011, 04:22 PM
.
***2 Easy Questions; Load time on fonts worth it? & Suggest a content form change?***

Hey thanks a lot in advance!

First,

I was wondering, what are the disadvantages of custom fonts? I would load it in its normal form, not bold or italic or anything etc. It would be roughly 200 kb, which I feel like could be a little bit of time to load. Thoughts?

Second,

http://i55.tinypic.com/k3n7kx.jpg

The content needs to be divided into those 3 red button categories. Should I create a seperate page for every link, or is there an easier CSS or easy to do way to switch the current content box?
Like, switch the text upon clicking without reloading the page, simply loading a different text for that div?

Thanks!

majunior
07-22-2011, 04:34 PM
1) check out fontsquirrel.com. That website will explain to you how to embed a custom font. Bottom line: Like you pointed out, filesize is a bit large, and that can be a problem. Secondly, Licencing of fonts. If you own 'font X', then you do not automatically have the right to use this font as, lets say, a ttf file on the web. fq.com has some nice solutions for this though. And third, and most important, custom fonts always look like crap till IE8. So keep that one in mind.

2) You can use javascript to show and hide div or span elements. With pure CSS, this will be a bit tricky however.

hope this answers your questions

Mike Walker
07-22-2011, 04:41 PM
Yes, I'm having doubts about using a custom font. I'll read about it online. I already know how to do it, it's fairly simple, I'm more concerned with the load times.

Also, #@*$ IE. I don't care if it's even past IE 6, it's a waste of my time to need to script for a specific browser that doesn't have the same universal elements.


Okay thanks, I like that. Yes I see there is scripts to change the content box, I think that would be most effective too.

Any one care to help me with that? I've looked up javascript change div class, but I can't find an effective method...

I have Jquerry linked to my site, and then I can maybe use the following: (But I don't understand how)


$("div#field_name").text(fieldName);

Rowsdower!
07-22-2011, 04:46 PM
1) I believe custom fonts are cached by the user so they only take the overhead once. 200KB is not too large, in my opinion, if you are making good, substantial use of the font. If it's just for one tiny thing in the page then you're probably better off making it an image with an appropriate "alt" attribute.

2) Whatever you do, make sure that the page and navigation still works when javascript is disabled. There are some users who have it disabled or not even available and your page content and functionality should still work for them. CSS will ONLY allow you to show/hide something that is a child element of the element actually being hovered, active, or some other applicable pseudoclass of CSS triggering. You can't do a persistent click change with CSS. At best you could make it appear until anything else in the page is clicked on and that's probably not what you really want.

With that said, you could use some pretty simple javascript to position and hide the segments until the correct left-hand link/button is clicked. Otherwise, just make them separate pages. That's up to a matter of your personal taste. If it were up to me, I would do separate pages here.

Mike Walker
07-22-2011, 04:51 PM
Okay thanks. I'll create them all on their own I guess!

Another question Rowsdower: Let's say I'm trying to get a font to load.

Any way I could do it with a delayed/last slot loading on the intro pages, thus allowing it to load before my website is reached which will cache it? Then they will have it when they reach my page- Or does this potentially cause problems? Like, can people disable caching? (if that's a stupid question my bad)

My intro pages use the text in image form anyways.

Rowsdower!
07-22-2011, 05:09 PM
To be honest, I'm not sure if the custom font loads unless an item in the page actually uses it. I think that it does NOT load unless used. But you could remedy that by simply placing a hidden element in the intro page that DOES use the custom font. That way it will be downloaded then at the intro and should be ready for the user when they reach the inner pages.

By "hidden element" I am referring to an element using CSS styles for either display:none; or visibility:hidden; or, at the very worst, margin-left:-9999px;

Users can disable caching, but that is more their problem than it is yours.

foodprocessor
09-23-2011, 12:48 AM
Mike,

what did you end up doing with the custom fonts?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum