...

View Full Version : IE8 not showing heading



sixrfan
07-06-2011, 06:14 PM
how come the
h2 class="featured title" that shows above the central image ("Event Planning and Design") does not show in IE8, though it shows in Chrome and Firefox?

pleasd advise. thanks in advance.

xFinaLx
07-06-2011, 07:42 PM
Can you post a link to your site or the complete code? Not much we can tell from that one line.

teedoff
07-06-2011, 08:31 PM
and I should hope that the code is actually

<h2 class="featuredTitle"></h2>

not sure about spaces in class and id names. May work but to me its bad practice to name anything that way.

alykins
07-06-2011, 08:55 PM
and I should hope that the code is actually

<h2 class="featuredTitle"></h2>

not sure about spaces in class and id names. May work but to me its bad practice to name anything that way.

i didn't even notice that... i'm pretty sure it throws validation errors (spaces in naming)...

so in the middle of typing this i threw a simple line of CSS through the validator, and it validate with the space; but I'm not to sure how it is getting targeted now, bc you have to have .featured title{margin:0px;} but now that is targeting all "title" s specified by featured... im getting confused... i don't think it works (like 99% sure)

sixrfan
07-06-2011, 09:05 PM
Can you post a link to your site or the complete code? Not much we can tell from that one line.


here's the code that has the featured-title on line 47: http://pastebin.com/BfUqt4VR

please advise. thank you.

kwdamp
07-06-2011, 10:23 PM
It's hard to tell what is causing the problem without seeing the full code. You do know that <?php the_title(); ?> is a subroutine that has to be defined somewhere. Right? I didn't see it in anything you posted.

Also, we can't see your CSS code from what you posted either. So there's no way for us to know if the h2 tag is defined properly or not.

I think you would be better served to give us the url of the actual page, or copy and paste the source AFTER the php processing has been done and yielded the resulting html.

sixrfan
07-07-2011, 02:01 AM
oh crap. i totally forgot to post the link to the site. i thought I did. sorry. wasnt trying to make things difficult. just spaced.

here it is (http://bdhobokenflorist.com).

please advise. thanks!

kwdamp
07-07-2011, 09:19 PM
Wow, you have a LOT of code there. I counted over 1,000 lines of CSS between the 4 pages that your site references.

When you make things that complicated, it's very, very hard for others to give you insight.

One thing I couldn't figure out though, is the parent div of that H2 class is listed as <div class="slide active-block">. I couldn't find that defined anywhere in your css. Is that perhaps a mistake (mis-titled) or was it possibly left out by accident?

alykins
07-07-2011, 11:23 PM
i feel like such a dumb a* for not thinking of this earlier... first you call your class featured-title. (or i am gathering this based on checking things)... also as to the "spacing"... that is how you call multiple classes for one object... so if i have five classes (each named one, two, three, etc) if you want to apply classes .one, .two, and .four, you would call class="one two four"... so in regards to OP problem you are trying to apply classes .featured and .title .... if you named it something else you are never calling the styling

sixrfan
07-08-2011, 06:05 PM
yeah, i realize now that there's a ton of code in here. This is a wordpress template that I installed and apparently its really weighted down in code so I'm just dealing with the repercussions at this point.

I was able to get the heading to work with the following:


.active-block .featured-title {display:block !important; font-size:26px; bottom:auto; top:0; color:#803e3f; background:none; text-shadow:none;}


i think the issue was that previously I had a top:-20px in there and it was dissapearing above the surrounding div in IE. so the title is showing up now...

however, the heading now looks like its very low resolution. why is that? does IE not recognize the font type? if so, why wouldnt IE just default to some generic font and have it look good??? how can i fix?

please advise. thanks!



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum