View Full Version : Populating a table from dynamic menus

07-11-2003, 07:43 PM
Background: I have a page with a dependant drop-down menu, where it will be filled with information from the first drop-down menu. All of which is coming from an Access 2000 database. So, for example, you select the "Make", and the "Model" menu is then filled with the appropriate models for that make.

My problem is that I can't figure out how to make the selection of both of those menus populate a table on a seperate page.

So basically, If they pick "Honda" and then "Civic" I want to be able to populate a table with information from a database that matches those selections.

Any suggestions or links to point me in the right direction would be helpful.


07-15-2003, 11:24 PM
I'm not sure I understood.
If you have cars on the menu; Honda, and when the user clicks on it, you want to load all info about Honda from the database and show in a table?

Or do you already have everything downloaded and when the user chooses Honda you just want to build a table containing the data about Honda?

07-15-2003, 11:27 PM
I have a dual drop down menu, one for make, and one for model. WHen the user selects the make, then selects the model, I want it to fill in a table, from a database of information, all the vehicles that are of the make and model they picked.

So if they pick Honda, then Civic, it will make a table from the database of all the Honda Civics available.


07-15-2003, 11:35 PM
In that case you have to do it on serverside with SQL. What serverside language are you using?

The SQL is something like:
SELECT cars.* FROM cars WHERE make='Honda' AND model='Civic'