View Full Version : Java Help!

07-09-2003, 09:54 PM
Hey, I am making a site and for the first time using Java. I got this script from a site and it is giving me some problems. It only works when it is at the very top but when i move it under the title bar, it goes crazy, look:

Sterling (http://www.sterling-boats.com)

Please tell me how to make it work asap.

07-09-2003, 10:05 PM
Well first off, Java is not Javascript. They are two different things. You are using javascript.

Secondly, you need to read our forum rules and guidelines before you do anything else in these forums. You have posted this question twice so far in two different forums, here and the Post a Javascript forum, neither of which was even the appropriate forums.

Thirdly, when you see sticky threads at the top of the forums that say something like MUST READ or READ THIS BEFORE YOU POST, I would suggest you read them before you post.

07-09-2003, 11:12 PM
Moving to javascript programming...

07-09-2003, 11:22 PM

07-10-2003, 02:59 AM
this forum doesnt know much

07-10-2003, 02:29 PM
Wrong, this forum is not very keen on helping people who demand "Please tell me how to make it work asap". This is *not* a support forum. It's a discussion forum. The better the question, the better the answer. Remember, it's *you* who's got a problem, not *us*.

Try again with a better description of your problem and post the relevant parts of the malfunctioning code. Not everyone is interested in dissecting your whole page. If you use a script not developed by your own, name the author and provide a link to him, so people who recognize this script may instantly see which problems it has. It's in your interest.

Ok? :)

07-10-2003, 02:45 PM
When somebody says You , You must do it: Do You want to do it?
When somebody ask You, Do You want to do it: i am sure You are not long thinking about giving a possitive answere!

Think and be patient

07-11-2003, 12:45 AM
You guys are full of yourself telling me to reword my problem. Look at site, then at menu, it doesnt work...presto. There is my problem, it only works above title bar. Now does anyone know how to fix it...lets discuss it...

Graeme Hackston
07-11-2003, 03:31 AM
Let me try by example to explain the issues addressed above.

Before you posted "this forum doesnt know much" I went to your page with Mozilla and the menu didn't work at all. So I started IE and went to the page and finally got an idea of what the problem was.

Next I viewed the source and read through the scripts in the page and noticed the 2 external js files. At that point I said the heck with it, I don't have time for this right now. I've done the same thing in the past and what I do is watch the thread to see if someone wades through it all to come up with an answer. If no one does I give it a shot when I have time.

Then you posted "this forum doesnt know much" which I felt was ridiculous considering that you don't know the difference between js and java but feel you are knowledgeable enough to pass judgment like that. At that point I decided not to help.

I see now that the menu works in Mozilla and IE. Next time, if you don't know exactly what is causing the problem, at the very least provide links to the js files. Don't expect people to dig their way into your js files just to begin trying to help.

07-11-2003, 05:30 AM
Originally posted by Potato
this forum doesnt know much Pay attention everyone, this guy knows truly, the best way to get help from this forum. Take notes, people.


I might be back with a real response later.

07-11-2003, 11:38 PM
Yeah it works now cause i fixed it, sorry for being a bum and mad. I just needed it asap. Bye.

07-12-2003, 12:14 AM
Okay. Everyone gets frustrated now and then. Just so long as you understand this is not a place designed to supply people with what they need, but provide help. Everyone here donates their time and knowledge and are in no way obligated to do anything other than what they choose to (besides following the rules, of course)

Glad you got it working :thumbsup: