...

View Full Version : Search Form



Xaqa
05-29-2011, 12:17 AM
Using this: http://php.about.com/od/phpwithmysql/ss/php_search_2.htm

I'm trying to create a search form. But whenever I search it loads, but doesn't load results. It doesn't even give me an error. Can you tell me whats wrong.

I have the mySQL database information correct. Just want to, you know, release it to the public. :P


<html><head><title>Search form</title></head><body> <h2>Search</h2>
<form name="search" method="post" action="<?=$PHP_SELF?>">
Seach for: <input type="text" name="find" /> in
<Select NAME="field">
<Option VALUE="ServerIP">Server IP</option>
<Option VALUE="Port">Port</option>
<Option VALUE="Password">Password</option>
<Option VALUE="Hamachi">Hamachi</option>
<Option VALUE="Owner">Owner</option>
</Select>
<input type="hidden" name="searching" value="yes" />
<input type="submit" name="search" value="Search" />
</form>
<?
//This is only displayed if they have submitted the form
if ($searching =="yes")
{
echo "<h2>Results</h2><p>";

//If they did not enter a search term we give them an error
if ($find == "")
{
echo "<p>You forgot to enter a search term";
exit;
}

// Otherwise we connect to our Database
mysql_connect("", "", "") or die(mysql_error());
mysql_select_db("") or die(mysql_error());

// We preform a bit of filtering
$find = strtoupper($find);
$find = strip_tags($find);
$find = trim ($find);

//Now we search for our search term, in the field the user specified
$data = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM server WHERE upper($field) LIKE'%$find%'");

//And we display the results
while($result = mysql_fetch_array( $data ))
{
echo $result['ServerIP'];
echo " ";
echo $result['Port'];
echo "<br>";
echo $result['Password'];
echo "<br>";
echo $result['Hamachi'];
echo "<br>";
echo $result['Owner'];
echo "<br>";
echo "<br>";
}

//This counts the number or results - and if there wasn't any it gives them a little message explaining that
$anymatches=mysql_num_rows($data);
if ($anymatches == 0)
{
echo "Sorry, but we can not find an entry to match your query<br><br>";
}

//And we remind them what they searched for
echo "<b>Searched For:</b> " .$find;
}
?></body></html>

Here's the actual site: http://www.forthelols.com/search.php

mlseim
05-29-2011, 03:21 AM
Where is this variable defined: $field ??

I don't see it.



.

Xaqa
05-29-2011, 03:38 AM
<Select NAME="field">

Btw I got it to work. :) Thanks though.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum