...

View Full Version : how do I make my container touch the bottom



dazd
05-14-2011, 07:38 PM
Hey all,

I am trying to get my container to touch the bottom of my screen, instead of there being about a 30px gap from the container and the bottom of my site. I would like it to be touch the bottom of my screen so there is no white gap between the bottom of my container and my window screen.

Not sure if this is good, but I used a fixed size image container height of 1600px and width of 100%. Is that a bad way of putting in a container?

Thanks,
Jon

Suvi
05-14-2011, 10:59 PM
I am still a student of HTML/CSS myself, but if you are using an image as the main thing inside the container and want it fixed, should you not set a pixel width as opposed to a liquid/percentage width?

Also, you will probably get more assistance if you post your html/css. I am new here, but that seems to be the way it goes :)

Aurora.Light
05-15-2011, 10:54 PM
did you zero (reset) your script?



/* --RESET-- */
a, abbr, acronym, address, applet, b, big, blockquote, button, canvas, caption, center, cite, code,
body, dd, del, dfn, div, dl, dt, em, embed, fieldset, font, form, h1, h2, h3, h4, h5, h6, hr, html,
i, iframe, img, ins, kbd, label, legend, li, menu, object, ol, p, pre, q, s, samp, small, span,
strike, strong, sub, sup, table, tbody, td, tfoot, th, thead, tr, tt, u, ul, var {
margin: 0;
padding: 0;
border: 0;
}


by default, all tags have certain "presets". from the information you provided, I think this would be the solution, however if not, then it's definetly a self-caused bug in your script.

in order to use %, you should set your "page" width to 960px or whatever you desire. then use margin: auto.



html
<body>
<div id="page">
<!-- Script -->
</div>
</body>

css:
#page {
/* standard margins */
width: 960px;
/* to center your "script" */
margin: auto;



you can of course use 100% as your page width, but I think for now you should probably stick to pages with a set width and margins

dazd
05-16-2011, 02:53 AM
I had a fix for it, I just added a footer outside of my container and gave it the same color and had it extend to the container to the bottom of the page. :)

Aurora, you just threw me for a loop. What is all that?

Aurora.Light
05-16-2011, 03:02 AM
I had a fix for it, I just added a footer outside of my container and gave it the same color and had it extend to the container to the bottom of the page. :)

Aurora, you just threw me for a loop. What is all that?

you're supposed to reset all your tags...

dazd
05-16-2011, 07:12 AM
you're supposed to reset all your tags...

Can you maybe explain a little more about it to me please? Or give me a link that does, not quite sure why you have to reset tags.

Thanks for all the help!!!
I appreciate it,
Jon

djh101
05-16-2011, 08:54 AM
Filling in the space with a footer isn't really a fix, just a sloppy way to make it appear like nothing is wrong. Post a link to the page and/or your code.

And what Aurora is saying is that you should set the margin, padding, and border of all your tags to 0 (to remove any 'default' borders or margins). I've never heard of anyone doing this, usually either the default values of attributes are used or elements are changed individually.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum