View Full Version : Nav buttons, how do you use them properly?

05-13-2011, 08:26 PM
Hey all,

Got a quick question, how do you put a button in your nav bar? I know how to do it by creating a fixed width button. But how do I do it by cropping a piece of it out saving it to your images and then make it repeat for the size of the button?

Not sure if you understood a word I just said :/

05-13-2011, 09:48 PM
Also, footers. Ahh footers.
Can't ever figure out how to properly position a footer.
I am trying to add a simple footer color to the bottom of my page. But there is a gap on the right, bottom and left side. I want it to fill out the bottom of the screen like most footers do.
Also, I want to position is a bit behind my Container. How would make the footer position able to be changed? I know position absolute but that makes it real small. :/

I'm signing up on Lynda.com btw, hopefully if helps me with all these pesky subjects.

Thanks everyone,

05-14-2011, 02:31 AM
Figured out the footer, I added a margin of 0 to the body in my css.

Now, I got another question, I want to position my footer in a specific position, behind my container but sticking out a little bit below the container. Then I want a strip of about 5 pixels in height to be on the top of my header but with the strip above my container not behind it.

How would I make it so I can adjust the position of my footer?

05-14-2011, 06:06 AM
hmm... not sure what exactly your shooting at; but lets kill the easy bird first...

adding this to your css can do the header
border-top: size(px) type color {eg 5px ridge #FFFFFF}

as for the footer... a few things to think on... you can use clear to force it below items (clear:both;).... you can also add in items (to the rest of your code) that can "take up space"... you could for example do
<hr class="hide"/>
in css...
visibility: hidden;}

this would insert a hidden horizontal block... you can do the same thing to divs... also try margin parameters...

i guess im not too sure on the exact question for the footer (the situation your trying to fix)... code? I looked at ur site and didnt see where you were trying this (pvdemos right? if i have wrong person- oops :) )