...

View Full Version : IE giving me complete fits.



BoyWander
04-21-2011, 05:56 AM
So my website is finally starting to come around, and looks nice - albeit in Chrome, Firefox and Safari. Opera, the gradient background wont show, but oh well.

It looks like complete crap in IE - how do other developers get around this problem?

The divs are not aligned anywhere near properly, there are blue borders around my images (which I think I can get around by applying border:none;, and just looks messy period.

I was thinking, maybe some people use some kind of script to detect the browser, and if it is IE, then have it display a completely separate website designed specifically for IE - but using the same php and MySQL databases.

If not, then how do you code to make a page look great in all of the top 4 or 5 browsers? I am afraid to re-write it to look well in IE, in fear that it will not look right in the others.

I actually really hope people stop using IE period - and/or that Microsoft would somehow be bought out or forced to either bundle other browsers with Windows, or make IE compliant wil the others.

Sorry to rant, but what are my options? Thanks.

BW

SB65
04-21-2011, 08:25 AM
Got a link to your page? Difficult to comment specifically otherwise.

Make sure your page has a valid doctype (http://www.alistapart.com/articles/doctype/) - IE won't behave without one.

BoyWander
04-21-2011, 08:41 AM
hmm...I have Doctype at the headers....maybe it's not correct?

www.weplaycards247.com/HTML/Home.php

It is still in construction mode, so it won't show up if you just type in the domain name.

Also, I either need to learn flash to make the games, or find someone to make the games for a certain % of profits. So if anyone has any resources for me to explore in this area, I'd appreciate that kind of info.

Also if it shows up kinda funky in Chrome or Firefox, please let me know along with your screen resolution. I made it with a 1024x768 resolution, so it does look skinny in wider screens.

abduraooft
04-21-2011, 09:38 AM
<!--
To change this template, choose Tools | Templates
and open the template in the editor.
-->
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">

FYI: your DOCTYPE (http://www.alistapart.com/articles/doctype/) is incomplete and you need to change it first. I'd recommend the HTML Strict one. After that you need to remove the comment above the DOCTYPE, as IE may turn into quirks mode when it encounters anything above DOCTYPE.

Then, validate your page and fix the errors in the markup (http://validator.w3.org/check?verbose=1&uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.weplaycards247.com%2FHTML%2FHome.php), if any.

Kor
04-21-2011, 10:31 AM
The Doctype should be the very first declaration of the document. Anything written above, even a comment, might ruin the normal behavior of the browser's interpreter.

effpeetee
04-21-2011, 11:32 AM
There is a lot of general help here (http://www.exitfegs.co.uk/Sources.html).
Use the Search facility. Single words often work best.

Frank

BoyWander
04-21-2011, 08:26 PM
Okay, now does anyone know how I might create rounded borders with IE?

border-radius:15px; doesn't work for IE.

SB65
04-21-2011, 09:08 PM
I quite like the PIE.htc (http://css3pie.com/) approach. Seems fine to me in IE7+, occasionally problematic in IE6.

border-radius doesn't work in FF3 either - you need -moz-border-radius.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum