...

View Full Version : Alignment issues



sbhardwaj
04-06-2011, 08:31 AM
Hi,

As a disclaimer, I have learned HTML/CSS quite recently and totally through internet forums. So I might have some basic gaps in my knowledge. Sorry about that.

The website I am working on is http://portfolio.dreamsofatypewriter.com/
Here are my problems:

1. The alignment on the homepage is killing me. No matter what I try I can't seem to center all the elements. I tried margin: 0 auto. Doesn't work. Even if I get it to work on one resolution, it is completely messed up in the next.

2. IE seems to be doing strange things to the homepage. I have no clue how to fix that bug.

3. It is more of a feedback question. In the internal pages, there is a sidebar sticking out (for example product>S.I.R./OtherCity).Is it noticeable enough. Do you think it works from usability point of view.

I would really appreciate any help you guys can give me. I have been going to sleep 5 in the morning for the last one week because of this site (three of them were spent fighting with the alignment problem). I need sleep!:(

By the way if you are wondering, the homepage uses sliding boxes by Sam Dunn http://buildinternet.com/2009/03/sliding-boxes-and-captions-with-jquery/.

Thanks

abduraooft
04-06-2011, 09:33 AM
1. The alignment on the homepage is killing me. No matter what I try I can't seem to center all the elements. I tried margin: 0 auto. Doesn't work. Even if I get it to work on one resolution, it is completely messed up in the next. Could you make rough drawing of your expected output/alignment?

sbhardwaj
04-06-2011, 10:00 AM
Yes, the layout is meant to look like this:

http://i277.photobucket.com/albums/kk62/dopedmonk/layout.jpg

All five elements in a row (horizontally centered) which starts 200px down from the top and white borders on top and bottom.

Excavator
04-06-2011, 04:50 PM
Hello sbhardwaj,
It's not possible to center your two floated elements with your layout as it is.
You need another div to contain #inner-wrapper and #wrap2. You will be able to center that new div with a width and margin: 0 auto;


2. IE seems to be doing strange things to the homepage. I have no clue how to fix that bug.
You'll need to be a little more specific than that. It's a lot easier if you describe what's wrong.

sbhardwaj
04-10-2011, 05:56 PM
Thanks for your help. i figured out the problem in IE. :thumbsup:



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum