...

View Full Version : Need some CSS help.



Westy
02-24-2011, 05:34 AM
Ok, I am very very new to CSS (Basically, i know nothing except what I have learnt from some youtube videos).

Now, we have a website that is already fully built in HTML, with NO CSS what so ever. What we want to do is put some google adds on the right hand column of the site, however we have over 1000 pages so doing that manually to each page and then changing them monthly would be a real pain.

Is it possible to use CSS on a site that is already built to change the adverts on all the pages at the same time? And if so how?

Thanks, and sorry if this is in the wrong section as you may notice I am new to the forums so I don't really know where to post this!

tracknut
02-24-2011, 05:51 AM
CSS will neither help nor hinder your ability to put those ads on 1000 web pages. What you need is server-side includes, either via PHP or SSI, and to "include" the ads from each of the pages. Read up on those, I think it'll help.

Dave

Westy
02-24-2011, 07:29 AM
CSS will neither help nor hinder your ability to put those ads on 1000 web pages. What you need is server-side includes, either via PHP or SSI, and to "include" the ads from each of the pages. Read up on those, I think it'll help.

Dave

Sorry but as mentioned in the OP I have barely started learning CSS, I know 0 about PHP, And I don't even know what SSI is. Is there no way to do this in CSS?

tracknut
02-24-2011, 04:41 PM
No, there isn't. CSS is for styling the "look" of the web site, and doesn't control your content.

Dave

Westy
02-24-2011, 04:44 PM
No, there isn't. CSS is for styling the "look" of the web site, and doesn't control your content.

Dave

But the adverts will mostly just be images that are links, is there no way round it?

If not then I guess my next question is, what is the best way to start learning PHP.

tracknut
02-24-2011, 05:03 PM
W3Schools has some good starting stuff on PHP at http://www.w3schools.com/php/default.asp

But first you want to verify your host has PHP at all, so you don't get all spun up only to find they don't support it. You could create a file called test.php with the following in it:


<?php
phpinfo();
?>

Put that on the server and then bring it up in your browser. If it gives you a nice table with all sorts of information about your PHP configuration, you've got PHP.

Dave



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum