...

View Full Version : Div Layer in IE vs. Mozilla Problem



ammwebmaster2@a
02-18-2011, 01:38 PM
I don't understand why this is happening or how to explain it but here goes: I have an asp page that uses lots of layers and in Mozilla when I click on a link it is supposed to bring up and image and slide it into position. But when I put the typical code in the head -



<%@LANGUAGE="VBSCRIPT" CODEPAGE="65001"%>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">


it does not work in Mozilla (it actually slides the image up behind the background but it works in IE. When I take out -


<
!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

it works in Mozilla but in IE it blows the format all to heck. I have other pages that uses layes and they work fine in IE and Mozilla with the above code.

Can anyone tell me what is going on, Please.

You might understand it better if you can see it in action. The link to the page is- http://www.amm.org/giftshop/cards/ecards.asp

I don't even know if the above is for sure killing it but it is the only thing that I could see that would make it break in one and work in the other.

Michelle

Fou-Lu
02-18-2011, 05:13 PM
I don't think this will be a problem with asp, it sounds like an issue with your z-index controls. Moving to HTML/CSS forum.

teedoff
02-18-2011, 05:55 PM
You have a few errors in your markup, which you can view here (http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.amm.org%2Fgiftshop%2Fcards%2Fecards.asp&charset=%28detect+automatically%29&doctype=Inline&group=0). You should try to fix as many of those as you can. In particular it looks like you have some opened divs but you dont close them.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum