...

View Full Version : My PC takes a long time to shut down.



effpeetee
01-15-2011, 04:37 PM
This is a bit more unusual than the time taken to boot up. Boot up time seems reasonable but shut down time is much longer. Any suggestions welcomed. I don't really know what to adjust/remove etc. for this problem.:confused:

NIL DESPERANDUM. or something.:D

Frank.

bazz
01-15-2011, 06:06 PM
Just to keep you busy... have you thought about a re-install?

I think you use windows 7 and I use XP so there are obviously some differences but, once, when shut-down was frustratingly slow a full re-install with default settings, has worked a treat since. No problems of any sort for about 9 months.

I know you like to 'adjust' things so maybe that suggestion will appeal :)

bazz

savantcreative
01-15-2011, 07:55 PM
Did it start shutting down slowly all of a sudden or has it progressed over time?

effpeetee
01-15-2011, 10:32 PM
Did it start shutting down slowly all of a sudden or has it progressed over time?
Over a period of a couple of weeks.


Frank

savantcreative
01-15-2011, 10:35 PM
Over a period of a couple of weeks.


Frank

Have you installed any new programs lately?
Do you run good AV software?

andres
01-17-2011, 07:10 AM
I think you're one of the worst problems that can happen to a pc, the first thing you should do is check the virus and if you have none then format your pc. If you reformat your computer and you still have problems then the fault is hardware and this is the worst thing that could happen, say this from experience because i can only turn one of the my pcs from the button on/off and if I do it from windows clicking Start the system remains frozen because the motherboard is defective, good luck

gameutopia
01-17-2011, 08:54 AM
You could check the event viewer logs. I couldn't tell you right off hand what they are, but there used to be some decent online diagnostics test. Could be a number of things from software to hardware, a bug or worm, you name it. Windows 7 starts up and shuts down fast when in good working condition. Like most windows related issues, when it's not working properly it can potentially be a real pain to track down and figure out.

savantcreative
01-17-2011, 03:06 PM
I've been running a raid array on an xp pro box for about 5 years. The machine is still running well but sometimes I think about tearing it down and doing a fresh install. Is this worth doing and how do you do this with a raid array? Thanks.


Sorry this post needs to be moved to its own thread but I don't know how to do that without double posting.

abduraooft
01-17-2011, 03:15 PM
I know it's not a solution, but why don't just "Hibernate" it instead of booting up and shutting down all the time?

oracleguy
01-17-2011, 08:04 PM
I've been running a raid array on an xp pro box for about 5 years. The machine is still running well but sometimes I think about tearing it down and doing a fresh install. Is this worth doing and how do you do this with a raid array? Thanks.
Don't thread jack, if you have an unrelated question you should create your own thread.

savantcreative
01-17-2011, 08:17 PM
Don't thread jack, if you have an unrelated question you should create your own thread.
Thanks for the advice. I will do precisely that.

effpeetee
01-18-2011, 09:44 AM
I know it's not a solution, but why don't just "Hibernate" it instead of booting up and shutting down all the time? __________________


Thanks abduraooft. I didn't think of that. Well worth a try.

Frank

effpeetee
01-22-2011, 04:44 PM
This procedure finally put matters right.




1.Start Registry Editor (Regedt32.exe).
2.Change the data value of the ClearPageFileAtShutdown value in the following registry key to a value of0 :
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management
If the value does not exist, add the following value:
Value Name: ClearPageFileAtShutdown
Value Type: REG_DWORD
Value: 0

This change does not take effect until you restart the computer.



Culled from here. (http://social.answers.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/w7performance/thread/fb35a679-c9b8-4a97-95c4-39c60e218130)
Erank.

savantcreative
01-22-2011, 06:05 PM
Is this is a risky type of thing to do?

effpeetee
01-22-2011, 08:03 PM
Is this is a risky type of thing to do?
If you are not careful; Yes. Make a restore point first and you can then revert if needed.
I had no trouble with it.
I keep a full backup.

Frank

savantcreative
01-23-2011, 05:53 PM
I think the safest thing I can do is wait until I get a new machine up-then get this one running as a really good second machine. Thanks



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum