View Full Version : Can I force a new "tab" not "windows"?

12-22-2010, 03:34 PM
if I use:-


it opens up a new window, can I get it to open just a new tab?

Cheers Daniel.

12-22-2010, 03:46 PM
Hello DanielHowden,
You should not be deciding how a link opens when I click it. That is one reason the target attribute is being deprecated.
If my browser is set up to open links in a new tab then that's how I want it. If I want links opening up in a new browser then code that stops that from happening would not make me happy.

Interesting argument for both sides (http://robertnyman.com/2006/02/13/how-evil-is-the-target-attribute/).

And the target how-to (http://www.mydigitallife.info/2006/10/08/launch-and-open-links-in-new-window-or-tab-with-_blank-or-_new-as-target-in-html-and-their-difference/)...

12-22-2010, 09:25 PM
Apart from the target attribute being invalid you should be aware of the fact that the way you are browsing the web doesn’t have to be the way anyone else is. In fact, you don’t even know what program another person is using, and on what kind of device. Maybe the browser I’m using doesn’t even have tabs as an option? IE6 doesn’t, for example.

So, it’s not only a matter of decision, it’s just something you cannot control. Ever. Period.