...

View Full Version : Website Changing When uploaded to server.



robert31
12-18-2010, 05:46 PM
Hi all, first post im new here.
I have created a site and all works on computer when tested on ie. although when i upload the site to my server i get problems. the first was when i cliked the footer at bottom to load up chat it had a dotted grey box witch stayed there untill some one cliked on homepage again. i used <body onclick="self.focus();"> to stop this, although i only wanted this to happen on the footer. so i deleted the line and re uploaded it and it seems its still doing what this code does and stopes the boxs.
any idea why?
Rob.

VIPStephan
12-18-2010, 06:19 PM
The dotted line is probably the outline that appears when an anchor is active/has focus. You can remove it with outline: none; applied to the respective element in your stylesheet.

robert31
12-18-2010, 07:48 PM
thats what i was going to replace it with. Altough i have took the <body onclick="self.focus();"> out of the file and now it still seems to do what the code says.
URL removed as requested
it still is taking the grey boxs out altough ive deleted the code?

robert31
12-18-2010, 07:51 PM
Ok ive just tryed my site on a differnt computer and the grey boxs are working how they should again... Any idea why my computer still sees the old code?

Also
if i place outline: none; if the footer css part will it just remove it from the footer?

Thanks,Rob

VIPStephan
12-18-2010, 11:49 PM
No, the outline is not inherited, it only applies to the element(s) you assign it to. In your case you need to assign it to the anchor element in the footer.

Note, however, that the outline is a helpful indicator for people browsing without using a mouse or using other devices, and removing it can have negative impact on accessibility (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Accessibility#Telecommunications_and_IT_access). It may be OK in this specific case but generally you should think twice whether to remove accessibility enhancements just because you don’t like the looks or whatever. After all, it’s millions of other people that are using your site, and therefore millions of different preferences. An interesting fact might be that not only you can remove the outline, you can also style it like the border property.

robert31
12-19-2010, 05:10 AM
I no it will be a accessibility problem although they can still contact us though the contact us page. will design better next time!
Thanks for the info.
Rob.

robert31
12-19-2010, 06:14 AM
Right this is realy stressing me out now! outline:none; worked then i edit a few words saved again and now it wont!
ive checked and the code is still there altough its not working!!!
Any ideas?

eberdome
12-19-2010, 07:12 AM
try adding this code exactly how it's shown

:-moz-any-link: none;

this will get rid of all outlines in FF!

robert31
12-19-2010, 07:34 AM
Hi, Thanks but i only want to get rid in one place of site.
rob.

robert31
12-20-2010, 02:09 AM
Any ideas any one?

robert31
12-22-2010, 02:18 AM
Sorted now!



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum